We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent breakfast”

Taylor Street Coffee Shop
Ranked #13 of 5,693 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighborhood: Union Square
Description: The Taylor Street Coffee Shop is a long-standing favorite of San Francisco offering the city fresh, tasty coffee and delicious breakfast food. We love to serve a healthy breakfast with lots of fresh fruit, but also have items such as our breakfast pizza - hash browns under scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, and more - that we know will satisfy. We keep the atmosphere casual and relaxed, the service friendly and fast, and the food hot and tasty. What more could you ask for?
Boerne, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

I was amazed by the dishes they could crank out in such a tiny restaurant. Yes, the seating is limited, but they are able to keep the tables turning so we didn't have to wait too long. Great selections, good food, and generous portions. Bacon, hashbrowns, fresh fruit, homemade jams all were excellent. If you're looking for a great breakfast spot, this really should be at the top of your list.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jack C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom J, Guest Relations Manager at Taylor Street Coffee Shop, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Thank you Jack. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your breakfast and hope to see you again one day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

881 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    569
    262
    37
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tri Cities, TN
Level Contributor
65 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast Ever”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

If you are ever in SF do yourself a favor and treat yourself to a meal at the Taylor Street Coffee Shop. I enjoyed breakfast there and it was one of the best breakfast meals I've ever eaten. I would suggest that you get the fresh fruit with your meal--- it's like $1 upcharge and well worth it. The fruit is at the peak of ripeness and there is a good selection. Both scrambled eggs and omelets are made to perfection. Toast is plentiful and the jam they bring out is tasty and seems homemade (is it?). Prices are reasonable ($8-12 or so). The place is small so don't be surprised to have to wait, but it will be well worth it. Service is quick and friendly, too. Don't turn right and venture into the Tenderloin, though, when you leave. That neighborhood is the pits.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Terre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom J, Guest Relations Manager at Taylor Street Coffee Shop, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
We glad you enjoyed your breakfast with us, Breakout. Thank you for such kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
483 reviews
295 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

The line goes quickly although there are only 8 tables (4 seat 2 people and 4 seat 4 people) in this breakfast-lunch place. Fresh squeezed orange juice, good coffee, home made hash brown potatoes, and delicious turkey sandwich.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DeborahandAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom J, Guest Relations Manager at Taylor Street Coffee Shop, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Hi DeborahandAndy. Thanks for coming in and we're happy to see you enjoyed your meal. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“excellent food and well worth the wait”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Very fresh food and if you love bacon this is the place! Although it is very small the line goes very fast. We never waited more than 20 minutes.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Olivia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom J, Guest Relations Manager at Taylor Street Coffee Shop, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Love the name, Poptartolivia! Thank you for the visit and the kind review. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your meal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Breakfast”
Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

This place is AMAZING! Breakfast was awesome, service was fast and food tasted amazing! Highly recommend this place!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank VolFan912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom J, Guest Relations Manager at Taylor Street Coffee Shop, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
We're happy to hear you enjoyed your breakfast VolFan. Thank you for the kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taylor Street Coffee Shop also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Taylor Street Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing