We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we needed!”

Taylor Street Coffee Shop
Ranked #51 of 5,922 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighborhood: Union Square
Description: The Taylor Street Coffee Shop is a long-standing favorite of San Francisco offering the city fresh, tasty coffee and delicious breakfast food. We love to serve a healthy breakfast with lots of fresh fruit, but also have items such as our breakfast pizza - hash browns under scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, and more - that we know will satisfy. We keep the atmosphere casual and relaxed, the service friendly and fast, and the food hot and tasty. What more could you ask for?
Reviewed November 14, 2013

After a lousy breakfast the day before at Sears, we headed to Taylor St Coffee Shop hoping for a delicious breakfast to start our day. It didn't disappoint! Yes we had to wait about 20 minutes but we were entertained watching the staff prepare and serve the food to the 10 tables as we moved through the line. I ordered a hash and fruit plate and my husband had eggs, hash browns and millionaire bacon. Everything was yummy especially the millionaire bacon! My only "complaint" is that the fruit plate is overpriced at $6.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mamat122963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom J, Guest Relations Manager at Taylor Street Coffee Shop, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Hi Mamat. Thank you for coming in and writing the kind words. We're glad to know you enjoyed our food.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,071)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

686 - 690 of 1,071 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2013

This was such a good start to my day. Good coffe and freshly squeezed orange juice to a wonderful salad with poached eggs and bacon.

Thank Jon Oddvar K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom J, Guest Relations Manager at Taylor Street Coffee Shop, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

We're happy we helped start your day off right, JonOdd. Thank you for the great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

I was staying at the Hilton across the street, took my kids for breakfast two times in a row the food was as the reviews said great, the store was small as in the reviews, the service was fast professional but the were in a hurry and a bit not cordial, they were not impolite but were set for professionals that are in hurry to get to work rather than families on vacation. I enjoyed the food, took French toast and fried eggs with mango chicken sausage the first time and a crab omelet the second time. Kids had pan cakes the only missing thing was chocolate syrup or nuetella,
We four paid 50$ and 60$ on both days

Thank amoharram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom J, Guest Relations Manager at Taylor Street Coffee Shop, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Hello Amoharram, You are correct, we primarily serve business people who want a quick, quality restaurant but we love families as eel. We're happy to hear you and your children enjoyed the meal and please accept our apologies for the servers being less cordial than we would have liked.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We read the very good reviews, and the food was up to the recommendations, but Taylor is small, and almost third world in its set up. All the food for prep is sitting out behind the counter, stacks of egg trays, slices of bread, bins of fruit.. but they sure put together a nice looking and well prepared breakfast plate. Service was efficient and almost friendly, and the price is so low for the quality and quantity. I still give it excellent for atmosphere but it was great grunge. I'd go back,

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rick422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom J, Guest Relations Manager at Taylor Street Coffee Shop, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

Thank you Rick. We're glad you appreciate us for what we are!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Soooo ... You're known for millionaire bacon, it's featured on TV, it's mentioned on every page of the menu and so you're only thought as you peruse the menu is "what shall I have with my millionaire bacon?" When your waitress helpfully informs you that, "oh no, we don't have millionaire bacon today." Wow, that's quite frustrating when you're from out of town. The pancakes we did have were very nice and the fruit as well, but it really loses some gloss when a place can't provide you with their signature dish in the middle of their breakfast period midweek.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Karen-Stephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom J, Guest Relations Manager at Taylor Street Coffee Shop, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

Hi Karen-Stephen. Please accept our apologies for being out of Millionaire's Bacon on your visit. That rarely happens and we hope you can get back to try it one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taylor Street Coffee Shop also viewed

 

Been to Taylor Street Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing