We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Excellent breakfast!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taylor Street Coffee Shop

Taylor Street Coffee Shop
Ranked #12 of 5,541 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: The Taylor Street Coffee Shop is a long-standing favorite of San Francisco offering the city fresh, tasty coffee and delicious breakfast food. We love to serve a healthy breakfast with lots of fresh fruit, but also have items such as our breakfast pizza - hash browns under scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, and more - that we know will satisfy. We keep the atmosphere casual and relaxed, the service friendly and fast, and the food hot and tasty. What more could you ask for?
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

This was such a good start to my day. Good coffe and freshly squeezed orange juice to a wonderful salad with poached eggs and bacon.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jon Oddvar K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom J, Guest Relations Manager at Taylor Street Coffee Shop, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
We're happy we helped start your day off right, JonOdd. Thank you for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    491
    230
    29
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food professional service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

I was staying at the Hilton across the street, took my kids for breakfast two times in a row the food was as the reviews said great, the store was small as in the reviews, the service was fast professional but the were in a hurry and a bit not cordial, they were not impolite but were set for professionals that are in hurry to get to work rather than families on vacation. I enjoyed the food, took French toast and fried eggs with mango chicken sausage the first time and a crab omelet the second time. Kids had pan cakes the only missing thing was chocolate syrup or nuetella,
We four paid 50$ and 60$ on both days

Helpful?
Thank amoharram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom J, Guest Relations Manager at Taylor Street Coffee Shop, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Hello Amoharram, You are correct, we primarily serve business people who want a quick, quality restaurant but we love families as eel. We're happy to hear you and your children enjoyed the meal and please accept our apologies for the servers being less cordial than we would have liked.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
112 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent food in a grungy spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

We read the very good reviews, and the food was up to the recommendations, but Taylor is small, and almost third world in its set up. All the food for prep is sitting out behind the counter, stacks of egg trays, slices of bread, bins of fruit.. but they sure put together a nice looking and well prepared breakfast plate. Service was efficient and almost friendly, and the price is so low for the quality and quantity. I still give it excellent for atmosphere but it was great grunge. I'd go back,

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rick422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom J, Guest Relations Manager at Taylor Street Coffee Shop, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thank you Rick. We're glad you appreciate us for what we are!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great pancakes, pity about the bacon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

Soooo ... You're known for millionaire bacon, it's featured on TV, it's mentioned on every page of the menu and so you're only thought as you peruse the menu is "what shall I have with my millionaire bacon?" When your waitress helpfully informs you that, "oh no, we don't have millionaire bacon today." Wow, that's quite frustrating when you're from out of town. The pancakes we did have were very nice and the fruit as well, but it really loses some gloss when a place can't provide you with their signature dish in the middle of their breakfast period midweek.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen-Stephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom J, Guest Relations Manager at Taylor Street Coffee Shop, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Hi Karen-Stephen. Please accept our apologies for being out of Millionaire's Bacon on your visit. That rarely happens and we hope you can get back to try it one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Quick service, great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

Able to grab breakfast here everyday during our stay in SF since we stayed across the street at the Hilton Union Square. My fave was the Dungeness Crab Omelet, my wife loved the Breakfast combo with the fruit. Descent prices compared to the hotel breakfast. Line goes out the door if you don't get there early enough...an option we did several times was to take it to go. We just ate in our room!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank DBCFcoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom J, Guest Relations Manager at Taylor Street Coffee Shop, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Hi Tcordero, thank you for the multiple visits. We're glad you enjoyed our food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taylor Street Coffee Shop also viewed

 

Been to Taylor Street Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing