We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really is great”

Taylor Street Coffee Shop
Ranked #53 of 5,939 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighborhood: Union Square
Description: The Taylor Street Coffee Shop is a long-standing favorite of San Francisco offering the city fresh, tasty coffee and delicious breakfast food. We love to serve a healthy breakfast with lots of fresh fruit, but also have items such as our breakfast pizza - hash browns under scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, and more - that we know will satisfy. We keep the atmosphere casual and relaxed, the service friendly and fast, and the food hot and tasty. What more could you ask for?
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Had two breakfast here...really was first class...if in san fran u have to try this place...be dissapointed if u didnt make it here

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank evelynhenderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom J, Guest Relations Manager at Taylor Street Coffee Shop, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Thank you Evelyn. We appreciate the kind words and 5 stars. We're happy you enjoyed your meals with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,080)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

705 - 709 of 1,080 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2013

Not at all fancy but very local and fun. The line seemed to be long, but went very fast and was worth the wait. As you stand in line, you can see various meals being brought to the tables which which helped us with our breakfast choices. The food was perfect and we very much enjoyed this place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Djrober
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom J, Guest Relations Manager at Taylor Street Coffee Shop, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Thank you DJrober!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

we visited on sunday morning around 9am, we had around a 20 min wait to be seated. After that, despite the queue, we weren't rushed to eat up and leave, in any way, which was nice. This is a small narrow diner with around 10-12 tables each with 2 or 4 places. There is a good choice of american style breakfast, everything is made to order, helpings are generous and it tasted very good. It's the only place ive been in the US where I have had to ask for water, and for top ups of water and coffee, but the staff are very efficient and, dealing with takeaways as well as sit down diners, they do a fantastic job - in fact the way they work is a joy to watch!

Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom J, Guest Relations Manager at Taylor Street Coffee Shop, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Hi Amanda. We're happy to know you enjoyed your meal with us. Thank you for your business and kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I went to this restaurant for breakfast, and it supports my opinion that San Francisco is a breakfast lover's paradise. I was looking for a dish that Taylor Street does better than most, and almost anyone can do good eggs and toast. I think I found it in the hash. They understand that in a good hash, the potatoes need to be crisp on the outside, tender on the inside. The onions and peppers were cooked just right, and provided the flavor highlights along with the corned beef which was mostly on top. There was a light topping of cheddar - making it look like a delicious breakfast pizza. My over-easy eggs were done perfectly, and provided a nice sauce for the hash.
The restaurant is tiny and I had to wait a few minutes for a table, but not too long. The location is across the street from the Hilton, and near the Mark Twain Hotel, not far from Union Square.

Thank flash54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom J, Guest Relations Manager at Taylor Street Coffee Shop, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Astute observation Flash. It's always a pleasure to please a real breakfast connoisseur. Thanks for coming in and for the kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Service quick efficient and staff so friendly and polite. The menu was varied and there were so many options to choose from. The breakfast was always well presented and delicious. Although they were really busy and always had a queue you were never rushed by the staff. Would certainly recommend this place to anyone visiting SF.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 53pams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom J, Guest Relations Manager at Taylor Street Coffee Shop, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Hi 53pams, We appreciate the kind words and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taylor Street Coffee Shop also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Taylor Street Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing