We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most faboulous breakfast!”

Taylor Street Coffee Shop
Ranked #21 of 5,839 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighborhood: Union Square
Description: The Taylor Street Coffee Shop is a long-standing favorite of San Francisco offering the city fresh, tasty coffee and delicious breakfast food. We love to serve a healthy breakfast with lots of fresh fruit, but also have items such as our breakfast pizza - hash browns under scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, and more - that we know will satisfy. We keep the atmosphere casual and relaxed, the service friendly and fast, and the food hot and tasty. What more could you ask for?
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

5 people serving 10 tables. Everything is fresh! Good service! We went here every morning! No bether choice for breakfast anywhere!!

Thank fhjelle
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tom J, Guest Relations Manager at Taylor Street Coffee Shop, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

All the way from Norway! Thank you fhjelle! We're glad you tried us and appreciate your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,023)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

691 - 695 of 1,023 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2013

The place is tiny, it has ten tables or so, and because it has become super-popular with tourists, it is packed all the time. Their highlight are the hash browns, which they serve as a flattened pancake. The food is very good but you will have to put up with rude service, and it is quite slow, so if you are in a rush, avoid it or go really early before it is full.

Thank QueenStreetLaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom J, Guest Relations Manager at Taylor Street Coffee Shop, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Queenstreetlaw,

Thank you for the compliments on our food. I apologize if the service wasn't to the level we expect and you deserve. We never should be rude to anyone for any reason and that is not the norm for us. I will speak with the owner and I'm sure he'll make sure it doesn't happen again. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We don't really know how we ended up going in here, but we are glad we did. It was the best breakfast we had in the 7 days we were in San Fran. Service was great, awesome fresh fruit. Get the California Avocado omelet! There tends to be a fairly short line there, but it seemed to move pretty quick.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank anell213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom J, Guest Relations Manager at Taylor Street Coffee Shop, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Hi Anell,

We're glad you found us and thank you for the great review. We appreciate it very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Fantastic food, speedy service. Had the Benedict, California style. Best I have ever had, and the hash browns are just right (even if it looks like a mini yoga mat). Highly recommended.

Thank MisterAverageGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom J, Guest Relations Manager at Taylor Street Coffee Shop, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

MisterAverageGuy,

We're happy you gave us well above average marks. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

After reading reviews, I expected to see a line when we neared the place, but we were in luck and were next in line! A short wait and we were seated with a line forming quickly behind us. Not a fancy place at all, diner style. I enjoyed the fresh coffee while checking the menu and decided on the Taylor Hash: great choice! I recommend paying the $3 to substitute the Millionaire Bacon as it added a lot to the already flavorful dish. Food came out quickly and we enjoyed every bite. Other than being warm in the restaurant (I broke a sweat drinking the coffee and eating the spicy food), I recommend it!

A small place, the tables are arranged to seat 2 or 4, not much room for re-arranging for larger groups. Within walking distance of Union Square area hotels.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kknob62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom J, Guest Relations Manager at Taylor Street Coffee Shop, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Kknob,

We know people from Austin know good food so we really appreciate your review. Thanks for having breakfast with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taylor Street Coffee Shop also viewed

 

Been to Taylor Street Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing