We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suggestion pans out”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pagan Restaurant

Pagan Restaurant
Ranked #2,765 of 5,645 Restaurants in San Francisco
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Burmese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Wonderful Burmese / Thai Restaurant
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Suggestion pans out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

I was given this restaurant on a recommendation from a relative of a friend. Her pick was spot on. We enjoyed it immensely. Small, intimate, and great service coupled with some great food. Get the Tea Leaf Salad. Who knew salad could be so good?

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shebbie68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    10
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, California
Level Contributor
440 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“A gem in the sunset district”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Pagan is very close to one of our favorite walks in San Francisco along the Land's End Trail from near Sutro Baths to the Palace of the Legion of Honor.

We had 6:30 reservations on Saturday night and when we arrived the place was packed. We were glad that we had reservations.

There is one kind of beer (Singha) on the menu, and no wine.

We had eaten lunch at Slanted Door and I like Pagan just as much and it is signficantly less expensive.

The tea leaf salad is excellent. My husband, who rarely gets excited by salad liked it as did his brother.

We got the Tom Kha soup with shrimp. It had 6 large shrimp and there was plenty to split 3 ways.

We had the pumpkin curry. I liked it, but my husband and his brother found the pumpkin to be too bland.

The only slip up was that they never brought the rice that we ordered, which would have been good with the curry. However, we had plenty of food and they did not charge us for the rice.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank EveSp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Try it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

We had the tea leaf salad. An interesting mix of salty, crunchy, flavors! Served on a bed of fresh green romaine, it was a cool delicious salad. Also try the Burmese pork and pumpkin stew, definite comfort food!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Apachelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
614 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,040 helpful votes
“Tasty food in a pleasant setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

We walked to Pagan restaurant after a visit to the nearby Legion of Honor. It was 6 pm on a Sunday and the place was packed with families, couples, and students. We were looking for a vegetarian meal and ordered the combination appetizer, the tea leaf salad, and the vegetable curry, all of which were quite tasty. The service was decent and the overall experience positive.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FactotumDellaCitta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
129 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Good food, good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

We had dinner here (our fourth time in as many years) and loved it again.
I always pick something from the Burmese menu, my husband from the Thai menu.
This time we shared the chicken satay; I had a vegetarian curry, my husband pad thai.
It was a cool night and the Burmese hot tea (with milk and sugar) was perfect.
The service was great as always.
If we lived in San Francisco, we would eat here all the time.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PVfirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pagan Restaurant also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Pagan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing