We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, decent sleep, great room, great value!”
Review of Europa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Europa Hotel
Ranked #47 of 72 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect location, decent sleep, great room, great value!”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Just like the title says. This was the first place I stayed while backpacking the US and it was a pleasant surprise. Rooms were big and clean, felt pretty safe, shared bathrooms cleaned regularly. Great value for money!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raindance_bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    8
    30
    29
    74
See reviews for
7
42
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Wight
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Look at my recent re views and you will see that I am easily pleased , not pickey and fair.
This place is in a good location , that is the only plus.The " receptionist" a very unfriendly rude little man.The interior of the Hotel is disgusting and smelly , full of long term down and out residents , one of which thought it would be funny to fart next to me when I was checking in, he ran of laughing.
The shared bathrooms are horrible, in one of them there was excrement on the walls.
The room it self , very small and totally uterally disgusting , smelt horrible , carpet was unbeliveable , so dirty and used must be 30 or so years old.I braved a look at the matteres and wished iI had nt! The sink was the worst I have seen since travelling the world the past 5 months, even in run down places in India were better than this .
The walls were spattered with some stuff that might have been blood or jam .
I really do not think they should be allowed to Hotel peole here , or at least the Booking .com should strike them off , I wil be complaining to them definatally.
They put zero effort into this place, just cah in , let them keep housing the social cases but they should not be allowed to advertise as a Hotel.
I moved out into 6th street Hotel which was a very dodgy area at night times but the Hotel was100 times better than this and for the same price .
I am so furious with being ripped off like this and the horrible irgnorant , nochalant Hotel staff need some serious lessons in manners

Room Tip: Just dont go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DrWho43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Exeter
Level Contributor
119 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We are backpackers and found it was cheaper to stay here in our own room than in a dorm in one of the hostels. The location is brilliant as its close to union square as well as the harbor, both little Italy and china town are just 2 mins away so there plenty of fab places to eat. The Hotel is outdated and smells a bit funny like stale fags. Our room has a lovely big clean bed and we slept well and it also had a TV. The actual room looked a bit unclean on the floor and around the sink. We didn't have any issues with it being in the "red light district" and actually went out for breakie with a hooker we met there and had an enjoyable time! This hotel is great for people on a low budget but maybe not backpackers as theres obviously no kitchen so its expensive eating out and you dont really meet anyone (well other than the odd friendly hooker). Be open minded and have fun!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bright_ii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed at the Europa Hotel over New Years Eve. It was by far the cheapest option in a good location. If we'd had the money we would've stayed elsewhere, it is very run down. However, for what we wanted (good location and cheap) it was fine... as we all are seasoned travellers that have seen much worse!

We wanted to be somewhere close to restaurants and nightlife for New Years Eve and this area of San Francisco did not disappoint! We had a plethora of italian restaurants just outside our doorstep and discovered great understated hole-in-the-wall type bars all within 10 min walk from the Europa.

If you have high expectations for your accommodation I would not recommend the Europa Hotel, but if you're easy going and glad to have a cheap place to sleep and shower while sightseeing around San Francisco it's a good spot!

Room Tip: The rooms that do not front onto the street are probably better for a good nights sleep, there are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oban, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012

This hotel is basic but clean, and the staff are very friendly and helpful. This might not be the ideal accommodation for everyone, however... it's located between a couple of strip clubs and while we didn't feel unsafe, it can be a bit noisy at night. It's also right nearby some fantastic Italian restaurants and within walking distance to the Fisherman's pier.

Room Tip: If you bring earplugs you'll have a good night's sleep; rooms facing the street can be a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Imogen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Having travelled the world and stayed in basic accommodation in Thailand and Cambodia this is by far the worst accommodation we have ever stayed in.

Negatives:
Our room was filthy, the bed was infested with bed bugs, the sink was stained with nail polish and the shared bathrooms are full of cigarette butts, trash and hair.
The 'hotel' is full of long term tenants who are nocturnal and make noise all night. The corridors smellt of cigarettes.
My partner and I were woken up one night by drunken young girls knocking on our door and running around in the corridor.
The place is in the red light district of chinatown with a brothel next door.


There are cheaper and much nicer places to stay in San Fran, please don't make the same mistake as us. San Fran is such a beautiful city, and there are plenty of nice hostels and hotels.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gemcoop23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 3, 2012

We booked multiple rooms here for the weekend of NYE for a family group. You can't beat the price, great central location. Downsides are the noise and general appearance of the whole place; but with the right budget traveller attitude it's really not a big deal. If I'd had the money I would've stayed somewhere else, but for two nights max it's fine.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank owea540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Hotel Boheme
Hotel Boheme
#115 of 228 in San Francisco
297 reviews
Chinatown
SW Hotel
SW Hotel
#123 of 228 in San Francisco
351 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel North Beach
Hotel North Beach
#193 of 228 in San Francisco
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Washington Square Inn
Washington Square Inn
#18 of 72 in San Francisco
371 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel
#39 of 72 in San Francisco
271 reviews
North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Europa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europa Hotel

Property: Europa Hotel
Address: 310 Columbus Ave, San Francisco, CA 94133-3908
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Europa Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Europa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing