We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great overall experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fang

Fang
Reserve with OpenTable
Fang is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #286 of 5,645 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: SoMa
Cross street: 3rd Street and New Montgomery
Description: Fang is the sister restaurant of wildly popular restaurant, House of Nanking. Fang embodies both modern and authentic Chinese cuisines in a fine dining setting serving traditional Chinese fare, dim sum, as well as "off the menu" innovative dishes for the adventurous. Chef Peter Fang believes that good-tasting food is universal and should not be bound by how dishes were made in the past. With Chef Peter’s trademark inventiveness and eye for quality, the menu evolves and changes based on seasonally fresh ingredients from the same local Chinatown markets Peter has visited for decades. For fresh seasonal Chinese food in an elegant and modern setting, visit Fang.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great overall experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

First time dining here. Chef/Owner Mr. Fang put together a wonderful tasting for us. Every course was excellent. Best ribs ever. Service also very prompt and attentive. Highly recommend!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cdsieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    118
    54
    27
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellant Chinese Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Great vibe and even better food. I was staying at the W Hotel right next door and pop over for a quick dinner. I had the Mei Fun. The herbs and spices where incredible, a world of flavors with each bit. They seemed to work hard at making the standard dish come to life.
If you are in the area I highly recommend!!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank G M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, USA
Level Contributor
165 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly amazing & fresh Chinese food right by the convention center”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

We were a group of 5 attending a convention, including 2 vegetarians. The chef/owner (Peter) came over and asked if he can just decide for us and pick a few things that he thinks we'd like.

Oh wow!! Each and every dish was simply amazing. We had fish filets with fresh spinach and balsamic vinegar, fluffy pork buns with large shrimp, vegetables wontons with fresh peas, stir-fried pumpkin with corn relish, and really fresh pea shoots with edamame. Delicious!!!

His other place, the House of Nanking, is very popular and it is easy to see why!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy F, Owner at Fang, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
I'm thrilled to hear you found each and every dish amazing! Of everything you tried, what was your favorite?

Thank you for your kind review. Hope you get a chance to dine with us again soon!

All the best,
Kathy, Chef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Mass.
Level Contributor
106 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great delicious and quick lunch ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Found this place near the Moscone. Peter, the chef/owner asked our food restrictions and ordered for us and the food was fantastic. Fresh and expertly prepared. This way is the ultimate in foodie adventure but don't do this if you have a strict budget because the entrees add up quickly. It's best with a big group... $30 a person for 5 and we were stuffed... The food was SO good...

Helpful?
Thank malaplan
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kathy F, Owner at Fang, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you so much for recommending us! I'm delighted to know you found our food creative and delicious. It was a pleasure cooking for you, and I hope to see you back again soon.

Take care,
Kathy, Chef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Best Chinese food !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Well what's been written here by others is all correct. After eating out any many greatly great Italian restaurants in SFO we asked concierge at our hotel The Westin St Francis what was a really good Chinese place to try out - and he told us to just go try this place out no hesitations!
Well what can I say but the food was better than we expected. It's not your usual No 37 chicken & cashew nuts special ... this is Very creative, Very good quality, fresh yummy food here! I have to say the service/atmosphere isn't what you go thee for. The waitress seated us (the owners daughter) and we left it to her to order for us. Not much was said or explained, we certainly didnt get a warm welcome but when the food arrived it was superb. First were these buns filled with an Asian salad and pork meatballs...Amazing! A must try! ( if u don't like pork, they can change it to beef etc) We also had the eggplant salad, again beautiful..... it just kept coming, and every dish was so tasty and innovative. Steamed fish with ginger, was so white and fresh, not a "fishy" taste but very light and flavourful. As it was mums birthday that week, I mentioned it to the waitress, and they were so kind to bring us some beautiful pancake desert on the house...(much appreciated, thank you) Overall an excellent meal, a great find and right on the money.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy F, Owner at Fang, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Hi Anth,

Thank you for celebrating your mom's birthday with us. I'm delighted to know you had a special and memorable dining experience. We try to set ourselves apart from standard Chinese restaurants by putting creative and interesting twists on classic dishes. It's nice to know you enjoyed it so much. I hope you had a wonderful trip to San Francisco, and I look forward to your next visit.

All the best,
Kathy, Chef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fang also viewed

 

Been to Fang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing