We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for a value hotel”
Review of Casa Loma Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa Loma Hotel
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“OK for a value hotel”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We selected this hotel due to the great value compared to others in the area. The location was good with bars and restaurants just a block away and tram stops right outside. There's a great cafe across the road for breakfast (Alamo Square Cafe). The room was basic but clean and fine if all you're going to do is sleep there. The shared showers were clean & the water was hot. There was always a shower or toilet available.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jelfsy_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    152
    101
    43
    25
See reviews for
20
195
65
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Very cheap, worn down hotel with a good location. Pretty nasty wall-to-wall carpet and smelly reception, otherwise reasonably clean. Don't expect anything extra, no cleaning of the room, no new towels, no staff at the reception, no wifi, no breakfast...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IdaKatarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

My boyfriend and I booked a double room for 5 nights at Casa Loma and were quite satisfied with our stay. First of all, the location is very ideal, being right in the middle of the city and on a bus line. There are plenty of restaurants and bars nearby on Haight, just blocks away, and Alamo Square Park (also nearby) is a great place to have a picnic lunch.

I found the staff to be friendly and helpful. We got some nice recommendations from one of the staff members for places to grab dinner and beers our first night in San Francisco. We were given a brief tour when we checked in. They also let us secure our rental bikes in their locked closet.

Shared bathrooms and showers are never preferable, but these ones were always clean and well-stocked.

The room was small and simple. The carpet could probably be deep-cleaned or replaced (a few too many stains for my taste) but the bed and linens were comfortable. There is a sink and mirror in the room and towels and soap are provided. Not exactly the type of room you want to spend hours hanging out in, but we planned to be out most of the time and only needed a place to sleep and store our things, so it satisfied our basic needs. I would advise a light sleeper to consider using earplugs, as the walls are pretty thin.

For the price, this is definitely a great option for San Francisco and I will definitely consider staying here in the future!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Good location in a nice neighborhood, a block from Alamo square, bus stops in a walking distance. Nice and clean room, perfect for the price. Shared bathrooms/restrooms nice and clean. Parking in the area was a nightmare.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vavilon88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paderborn
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I and a friend of mine wanted to do a city tour in San Francisco and we booked this hostel. When we arrived and got our room we were astonished to see that there was only a single bed! I thought: ok, it is my fault, I have not really realized that double room is not a twin room. As we are not gay, staying the same bed was not an option for us at all. So we went downstairs to the check-in and asked for another room, but the woman was really very unfriendly and laughed us out - this is the first time I experienced such unfriendly stuff - laughing out is a no-go!
On every my question we were told to "talk to my manager" - ridiculous! Some time later the manager came (he was very friendly by the way) and gave us a sleeping bag - this is the way we spent all the days there - one of us was sleeping on the floor! - They didn't want to refund anyhing. When we checked out and picked up our baggage the same unfriendly woman didn't even say a good bye and didn't us take a shower: "guys, you checked out, I don't think you can take a shower here" - she laughed.
It is worth mentioning that on one of the days there was another woman on check-in who was very fine, so if you are lucky you will have her, you'll definitely have other impression.
Concerning the hotel: the furniture is ok, the room really deserves its 1-2 stars, it is ok. The showers and toilets are clean. The location is ok, on foot you walk 30 minutes to the very center. So if you are a pair and are prepared for that unfriendly woman from the stuff you will be ok here. My rating is badly influenced by her and the fact that they don't have twin rooms has to be clear to everything in advance. Thus only 2 points!

Room Tip: There are no twin rooms, so if are two guys make sure you can share one bed or that one can sleep on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sergionovi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Santa Barbara, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Myself and my boyfriend are travelling around California for the month. We've been staying in hotels and hostels and I have to say this was literally THE worst hotel/hostel either of us have ever stayed in.
From the beginning the staff were very unpleasant and rude. The manager who was checking us in left midway through our check in to sort out some laundry while we waited. When he finally did return he threw a form at us to sign and then headed off somewhere else again. We reviewed our bill, as we always do and the manager got very defensive asking what was the problem etc.
The room itself stunk and the walls were paper thin, we could hear conversations in the next room.
We were given no information whatsoever at check-in, apart from where the bathroom was. So once we settled in I went down to ask the receptionist a few questions about the area, shops, public transport etc The girl at the desk literally rolled her eyes when I came up to the desk and seemed almost bothered or hassled at me being there. It made me feel extremely uncomfortable and for each of the questions I asked her I got one word answers and was basically brushed off. I work in the tourism industry at home and this just drives me mad. These kind of people just should NOT be in tourism.
Also we stayed four nights here and in those four nights our room wasn't cleaned once nor were our towels changed.
Bottom-line DO NOT stay in this hotel! It really put a downer on our few days in San Fran and it was not cheap, it was one of the most expensive places we stayed throughout the entire trip!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kitty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

The room was small, clean and very noisy. We had requested a queen room with bath in a quiet location. What we got was everything but the quiet location. We were put in a room on a very noisy corner, which made sleeping next to impossible.

I had modified my reservation online and the date auto-fill chopped off my third night, which I didn't realize until I checked in. I asked the woman at the desk to see if I could add the third night back to my reservation, and she said that only the owner could make the change. She said that the owner was not available for two days and there was nothing she could do to assist me. I am in the travel industry and this is not the way to run a hotel! Even though my son lives nearby, I would not stay here again. I DO NOT recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Do not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PPQGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Music City Hotel
#121 of 229 in San Francisco
381 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#97 of 229 in San Francisco
2,324 reviews
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#79 of 229 in San Francisco
1,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Francisco City Center Hostel
#7 of 50 in San Francisco
426 reviews
North Beach / Telegraph Hill
San Remo Hotel
San Remo Hotel
#4 of 50 in San Francisco
1,036 reviews
Hayes Valley
Hayes Valley Inn
Hayes Valley Inn
#13 of 71 in San Francisco
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Loma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Loma Hotel

Property: Casa Loma Hotel
Address: 610 Fillmore St, San Francisco, CA 94117-2696
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 50 Specialty Lodging in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa Loma Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Casa Loma Hotel offers beautifully furnished rooms in a modern setting right in the heart of the City. We're within walking distance to Alamo Square, Hayes Valley, Haight, Golden Gate Park, Japantown, the Mission, and the Castro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Casa Loma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing