We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, but more of a hostel than a hotel.”
Review of Casa Loma Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa Loma Hotel
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Firstly, Casa Lomo isn't a hotel its more of a hostel with private rooms so bare that in mind.

Location: Located in the Haight neighbourhood it's in good striking distance to all the usual tourist spots (def a bus ride to come home, uphill!). The Castro is also around the corner. A tip for parking, make sure you check the signs for the street cleaning, as you'll need to move your car, and also make sure you turn your wheels curb side or you'll have a nice surprise on your windscreen. There's 2 little supermarkets around, open late which is very handy.

Room: The rooms are on the smaller side but more than enough. The decor is fairly new, Ikea inspired. The bed is slightly small, I guess to match the smaller room, but was comfortable. The room also has a fridge and tv which is welcomed. The bathroom was again on the small side, but still functional and clean. Quick tip, you need to pull down on bath faucet water ring to engage the shower head. Possibly the only issue is the walls aren't particularly thick, and we may of hit a bad patch of younger guests, plus the traffic, it was rather noisy at times, but bearable.

Service: The service is minimal, mainly for checkin/out, but it was very friendly, and they make sure you've parked correctly which was really appreciated.

Value: Well this is where Casa Lomo wins, compared to the prices in San Fran it is very good value. Just remember its more of nicer hostel than a hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fandangledan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (414)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

200 - 206 of 414 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2012

Not much to tell about this hotel. Mainly, you get what you pay for I guess. We stayed here for four nights. The 2 biggest disadvantages of this hotel are the tiny beds ( I'm 1,82m and my feet were outside the bed) and the noise. The walls must be very thin because you hear everything. Luckally, all the guests were peacefull
Besides that we had a nice stay. The room was clean. The hotel is located in a nice neighbourhood, just 1 block from Alamo square. Price vs quality this is a good choice

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Koen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

The Casa Loma was a great find at a terrific price ($65/night). Even though it featured a shared bath I never had to wait in line to use the shower. It's close to downtown (walk or take a bus). It was perfectly clean and quiet with lots of character set among the Victorians. In addition, it's only 2 blocks from the famous 'Postcard Row' view by Alamo Square. There are plenty of restaurants a few blocks away on Haight St. I would most definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanneHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

The staff were polite but not overly friendly though the girl on my last day there seemed a little more engaging. The man who I think owned the place was glued to his phone.

There's not room service which in some ways is fine as you don't feel obliged to tip! It's no frills - you're left to your own devices.

The TV worked well, the bed was very comfortable but the air conditioning was often on which made it a little cold at night. The walls and ceiling were very thin and you could hear noise quite a bit.

Shared bathroom and toilet but it was close so no bother - clean. My room had it's own basin and fridge which were handy.

This was halfway between a hotel and hostel which suited me down to the ground, although the hostels in the area are much cheaper.

Okay location - about 10 minutes walk to The Castro, 20 to outskirts of main town, and about 20/25 walk to the Golden Gate Park. Nice little bars and cafes in the local area too.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dan_James
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

I thought this a lovely place and a great value. My room looked over a square of rocks but was quiet for the most part. As other rooms had windows that also opened on this little square, it would be quite easy to step out of your room and into a neigbors room if their window was left open. for this reason I locked my window when I slept or left. the shared toilets and showers were nice. doors had magnetic fobs to open so easier than keys or cards. my friends stayed in the suite on the first floor. and it was quite noisey for the person on the LR futon. lack of coffee pots, even in the suite and a messy toilet one day were my only complaints. i liked being in a neigborhood away from Union Square. the Alamo Cafe on the corner had good food and great coffee.

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room. i heard there were rooms that were quiet and had a view in the back but they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debmarst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

This is very much a self catering hotel where you are pretty much left to your own devices once checked in. The owner who manages the front desk was constantly on his mobile the two times we saw him so couldn't really speak to him but we weren't too bothered about this as he was friendly.

You can tell that it has been recently refurbished and the fixtures and fittings seem very basic but do the job. The rooms are medium size and tidy.

The shared showers and toilet seem clean and well kept, there was never a wait to use anything.

There was a coin operated washing machine/dryer downstairs which we used to wash some clothes, very handy but they don't supply soap so we bought a small box of detergent from a launderette about 4 minutes walk away for about $1. There also are vending machines for cold drinks and chocolate bars which was good.

The Casa Loma doesn't offer WiFi so we went to a cafe called 'International' on Height St, about 3 blocks away offering free WiFi, the cafe also does good coffee

The courtyard outside the windows was enclosed so seemed to amplify any noise coming from neighbouring rooms, even normal talking seemed like a loud speaker.

The small tv was high up on a chest of drawers and the cable was too short to pull it any closer.
It was also to the side of the bed so you had to lay side ways to watch it which became a bit uncomfortable.

I think this hotel is ideal for students/backpackers for a short stay but not ideal for families or long stays.

I would stay here again as I enjoyed my stay and the price was good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the central courtyard for more privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nixy1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Very tidy and tastefully-designed room. Shared bathrooms were also very clean and availability was not a problem. Very near the bus stop. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LucyC0120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Pacific Heights
Inn on Broadway
Inn on Broadway
#179 of 230 in San Francisco
494 reviews
SoMa
W San Francisco
W San Francisco
#64 of 230 in San Francisco
2,224 reviews
SoMa
Civic Center Motor Inn
Civic Center Motor Inn
#203 of 230 in San Francisco
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Music City Hotel
#116 of 230 in San Francisco
429 reviews
Union Square
The Grant Hotel
The Grant Hotel
#131 of 230 in San Francisco
1,071 reviews
North Beach / Telegraph Hill
San Remo Hotel
San Remo Hotel
#5 of 55 in San Francisco
1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Loma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Loma Hotel

Address: 610 Fillmore St, San Francisco, CA 94117-2696
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 55 Specialty Lodging in San Francisco
Price Range: $56 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa Loma Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Casa Loma Hotel offers beautifully furnished rooms in a modern setting right in the heart of the City. We're within walking distance to Alamo Square, Hayes Valley, Haight, Golden Gate Park, Japantown, the Mission, and the Castro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Casa Loma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing