We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get the salad!”

Tony's Pizza Napoletana
Ranked #25 of 5,664 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Description: Tony's Pizza Napoletana is a state of the art full service restaurant that offers several styles of pizzas which include Neapolitan, Classic American and Italian, Sicilian, Pizza Romana, Gluten Free and New York, Detroit and St. Louis Style and displays seven different types of pizza ovens. A delightful array of antipasti, pastas, insalata, and dolci are available at Tony's including a full bar that includes Italian and California wines, aperitifs, digestives and hand crafted artisan cocktails. At Tony's we pride ourselves in using only the finest ingredients which include fresh herbs and honey from our roof-top garden. We import authentic Neapolitan and Italian products each week and support several locally grown organic farmers and artisan cheese makers. All of our purveyors are specifically picked by Tony Gemignani bringing you the highest quality food or drink right to your table.
Rockwall, Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Get the salad!”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Tony's was recommended to us by friends who had eaten there while visiting SF. They weren't wrong. We went on a Friday late afternoon/early evening. it's a short walk from Fisherman's Wharf through the Italian neighborhood. We were fortunate that there was no wait and we were seated promptly inside- it was warm though and if we happen to go again, I would rather eat outside in the shade! The waitstaff were courteous to a fault. The waiter "heartily" agreed with our wine choice- it was just a bit over the top, but, hey we did make a good choice with the Tempranillo.
It's a pizzeria, so you order pizza, you have many selections and oven types/temps to choose from- who knew? And the appetizers!
We ordered a salad that was outstanding! Check out the photo!
We got the margarita pizza cooked in the wood oven at 900 degrees thank you very much. It was timed perfectly to come after we were done with the salad and was delicious. The fresh mozzarella and the basil were so fragrant. Needless to say- we would visit again!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nas1497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,850 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,229
    421
    122
    37
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good food, slow service”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We had the New York Style and Margherita which are their well-known pizzas. Weren't disappointed at all! The Margherita was as good as what we have had in Italy!

The service was bit slow. We had to call our waiter and check-in couple of times. He said the Margherita takes time to get done. However the repeat order was much quicker.
We had to wait for 45 minutes on a Sunday afternoon which was not that bad. We decided to hang out in the nearby Washington Square park on a nice and sunny day!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gogo_travel10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRAND RAPIDS
Level Contributor
77 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“You can't get this in the midwest”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Even in the afternoon on the 4th of July there was a wait for this popular restaurant. We went thanks to Trip Advisor reviews. Instead of waiting 40 minutes to an hour, we pulled up two seats at the bar. The bartender presented us with a basket of delicious bread, accompanied by a tray of garlic, olive oil and diced tomatoes. The pizza margherita didn't take long at all. It's a very thin crust put in a very hot oven. Only 73 available a day - do believe once the dough is gone the party is over. The pizza is large, but because it's so thin a couple can easily polish this off in one sitting. Or maybe we had been walking a lot. Enjoy!
The picture looks more luxurious than we experienced. I would imagine this is also a local haunt. Take-out next door.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BETSY C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great, but not worth the wait”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We made the mistake of waiting at Tony's on a Saturday night. The pizza was delicious but I have had gourmet pizza elsewhere that is just as good. I would definitely return if we happened to be there on a slower weeknight, perhaps, but, in my opinion, it just wasn't worth the hour and a half wait.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank B T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
201 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Well Worth The Wait”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

On a recent trip to San Francisco I looked to see if I could find any place that had tomato pie. Being an upstate New Yorker, I was raised on tomato pie, but the tomato pie I know is served cold so I was a tad hesitant to try Tony's Jersey Style version, which is fully cooked, but I couldn't NOT try it! So we waited about an hour for a seat and let me tell you, it was worth the wait! Tony's Tomato Pie is what we call "upside down pizza" in Central New York, and I must say that it outdoes those pizzas by a long shot! From the traditional crust, to the delicious sauce, sprinkled with parmesan, oregano, and garlic, this has to be the best pizza that I have ever tasted. We wanted to go back again and again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MakingMemories317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tony's Pizza Napoletana also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Tony's Pizza Napoletana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing