We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stromboli, The Original”

Tony's Pizza Napoletana
Ranked #25 of 5,666 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Description: Tony's Pizza Napoletana is a state of the art full service restaurant that offers several styles of pizzas which include Neapolitan, Classic American and Italian, Sicilian, Pizza Romana, Gluten Free and New York, Detroit and St. Louis Style and displays seven different types of pizza ovens. A delightful array of antipasti, pastas, insalata, and dolci are available at Tony's including a full bar that includes Italian and California wines, aperitifs, digestives and hand crafted artisan cocktails. At Tony's we pride ourselves in using only the finest ingredients which include fresh herbs and honey from our roof-top garden. We import authentic Neapolitan and Italian products each week and support several locally grown organic farmers and artisan cheese makers. All of our purveyors are specifically picked by Tony Gemignani bringing you the highest quality food or drink right to your table.
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
115 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Stromboli, The Original”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Had heard of Tony's and I love pizza so just had to give it a try. Didn't make reservations so ate at the bar which was just fine. The wine choices were good, the bartenders friendly and the Stromboli was awesome. It is a must stop for a great casual North Beach dining experience.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank knscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,854 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,230
    423
    123
    37
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Pizza at its best(plus gluten free)”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

After checking different pizza restaurants on TA we decided to try Tony's based on the great reviews and the fact they offer gluten free pizza as well. I don't have to eat gluten free but my wife must. We ordered one Gluten free pizza with three toppings and a couple of beers, one of which was also gluten free. The pizza was excellent, I usually don't eat the gluten free items my wife doe's but this time we shared and it was great. The crust was thin and crispy and the sauce and toppings were very tasty. The cost is a little higher than your chain pizza places but well worth it.I think our bill was around $35 total ,beverages included. This restaurant is just outside of chinatown about a twenty minute walk from the fishermans wharf area hotels. They also have a sister pizza joint about a block and a half away called Capo's, which is newer I think. I would definitely eat here again or try Capo's next time around.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank albertafamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Authentic Italian Pizza”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

An amazing place...pop yourself at the bar if you are alone and order away. Super friendly staff. Otherwise you'll wait for a table. No reservations are possible.

I had the world champion Margarita Pizza, whilst my bar neighbours had the Meatballs which spelt and by their account were amazing. Worth the walk or cable car ride.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oneillsinsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
123 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Excellent Pizza !”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

What more can I say. Sure the place is crowded and the day we were there it was a little warm due to the outside temperature but the crowds signify good food right ? Right ! No waiting when we went in for lunch but the place was packed. We ordered an American Pizza, standard mushroom and pepperoni, I figure this is a good test and easy to compare different places and it's also my favorite. Crust was outstanding, sauce great and overall a great pizza. Highly recommend. A bit pricey but what isn't in SF ?

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
95 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Perfect spot in Little Italy”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Be sure to try one of their award winning pizzas! Margarita or Cal Italia. You will probably wait about 20-30 minutes on the weekend. Well worth it. You can give them your phone number and walk around the square while you wait. Good selection of beer on tap to go with your pizza!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank BonoAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tony's Pizza Napoletana also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Tony's Pizza Napoletana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing