We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
San Francisco Maritime National Historical Park Ships at Hyde Street Pier
Book In Advance
More Info
$70.00*
and up
3-Hour San Francisco Segway Tour: Fisherman's Wharf to the Marina
More Info
$115.00*
and up
Private Segway Tour - Chinatown by Night
More Info
$55.00*
and up
Wharf and Waterfront Mini-Segway Tour of San Francisco
Ranked #86 of 550 things to do in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: Established in 1988, San Francisco Maritime National Historical Park encompasses 34 acres, and has the most National Historic Landmarks of any unit in the National Park Service. In addition to the fleet of historic ships at Hyde Street Pier, the Park includes the Aquatic Park Historic District (Maritime Museum, beach, lawn area, and bleachers), a Visitor Center and the Research Center (in Fort Mason Center).
Edina, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Fascinating History”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We enjoyed walking around and on one of the tall ships. There wasn't an audio guide but the written placards were well done and there was a video that helped understand the context and how the ships were packed to manage their ocean voyages. There were several other ships that you could walk on as well. I think this would be a great place to visit with kids in the 8-12 age range.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Conbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    72
    22
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fun touring the old boats”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We happened upon this museum by accident and ended up spending a few hours touring the old ships located at the pier. Everyone we spoke to provided great information, the restorations are amazing and it's very fun to see some of the work still in progress.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Cool boats”
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

I liked visiting the boats and learning about the Balclutha. It's a fascinating story, you can learn a lot on California 's history at the same time. The ferry is cool too. It would be great with kids!

Helpful?
Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“History you can touch”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Having had a long, lazy lunch, we were already too late for the Maritime Museum so we headed along Hyde Street Pier toward the five imposing vessels that are permanently moored there. You can read about the historic fleet on several websites, but suffice it to say that we were only able to go aboard two on our visit. The charge for this was $5 per person.

At first sight, that does not sound like great value - but after having spent a very enjoyable hour looking round the Balclutha and the Eureka, I don't regret spending one cent of that money.

The Balclutha: again, lots of information on this ship is available online, but my personal memory is the joy on children's faces as they hoisted flags and coiled ropes and marched around obeying the orders of the 'captain'. I remember my own joy, standing on deck, listening to the strengthening wind in the rigging and the gentle creak of the hull as the ship began to rock on the swelling tide. The sounds and the smells of the ship are intoxicating. Two superb videos are available to view down below and they offer a fascinating insight into the long and varied history of the Balclutha. As a floating museum, this feels safe but not sanitised and it's easy to imagine yourself as a crew member a century ago, putting out to sea.

The Eureka: this is a steam ship and has a wholly different charm, being built and serving in a different age and for a different purpose. A one-time train ferry, it then carried vehicles across the stretch of water now spanned by the Golden Gate Bridge. Some antique vehicles are on board to recreate the atmosphere of the time. The Eureka is very well maintained and really feels like it could go back into service tomorrow if it had to. I just wish we'd had more time to look around...

Hyde Street Pier appeared to close around 5 pm on the day we were there. I'm not sure if that happens every day, or if the ships are viewable in rotation and, looking back, I don't know how obvious it was that we would have to "abandon ship" at 5 pm. In fairness, the ticket to view the ships is valid for 7 days so you at least have the chance to go back and take another look.

I'd go back in a heartbeat. Hyde Street Pier and the ships will stay in my memory for a long time.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ChrisJMann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Very Interesting”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

There are only about five or six ships but each one is interesting and the cost of going on them for two was no more than $10. The clipper ship that was in Mutiny on the Bounty is docked here, a paddle boat ferry and some others. Worth spending an hour or so at.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank p999hug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Francisco Maritime National Historical Park Ships at Hyde Street Pier also viewed

 

Been to San Francisco Maritime National Historical Park Ships at Hyde Street Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing