We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Light Installation is worth it!”

San Francisco Bay Bridge
Book In Advance
More Info
$40.00*
and up
San Francisco Bridge-to-Bridge Cruise
Ranked #46 of 535 things to do in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: One of the longest bridges in the world, this spectacular structure links downtown San Francisco with the city of Oakland.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Light Installation is worth it!”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

I live in SF and the Bay Bridge is near and dear to our hearts. The light installation, "Bay Lights", was installed last year creates patterns that mimic clouds or traffic and create a really beautiful effect. My recommendation: check it out after dark from the from Cupid's Span (the HUGE bow and arrow sculpture on Embarcadero) before taking the N train to a Giants game. Don't forget a coat, this is SF after all.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank VMK415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,355 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    644
    527
    143
    23
    18
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nieuwendijk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
437 reviews
167 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Big en impressive”
Reviewed May 8, 2014

For me maybe this bridge is even more impressive than the Golden Gate Bridge, mainly because of the sheer size and the fact that from many points in San Francisco, the huge bridge is clearly visible. Also good for pictures.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Fedor-and-Rivka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Arlington, Ohio
Level Contributor
161 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great New Bridge”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

While hardly as famous as the Golden Gate Bridge, the Bay Bridge is well worth a look if you like engineering marvels. The suspension bridge to Treasure Island is very pretty, and the new cable-stayed bridge that replaced the cantilever span is amazing. Also, for the next few months you will be able to see them taking down the old part of the bridge as you drive across the new bridge. A great additional to San Francisco Bay.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank 43220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gorgeous bridge!”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

This is a gorgeous gorgeous bridge! I am on it everyday and love it (except for the peak hour traffic!) I recommend taking a drive over it by the morning AND the night - they are 2 different experiences. if you could only do 1, I'd pick a bright bright morning and if you cant drive over it, I highly recommend enjoying the views from the walk along the embarcadero during the night. Epic Roasthouse restaurant is not only an amazing restaurant & bar in itself but also has what I think are the best views of this bridge. Night-time viewing is sensations, with the lights and all

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank nitinma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Gorgeous bridge”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

If you're in the city, the great views are from the Embarcadero during the day or night. Or if you have a car, take the bridge to Treasure Island (no toll if you're only going there) and enjoy the fantastic views.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank tonywaySF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Francisco Bay Bridge also viewed

 

Been to San Francisco Bay Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing