We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
San Francisco
Post
Inbox
Search
Save
  
Ways to Experience Jackson Square
from $63.75
More Info
from $63.75
More Info
from $135.00
More Info
from $80.00
More Info
Reviews (12)
Filter reviews
12 results
Traveler rating
2
7
1
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2
7
1
2
0
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 12 reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2019

Known for the TransAmerica building. It is are to shop for fine furniture and fine art.

Just adjacent to the Financial district.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank rschagrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2018

A lot of streets come together in this area. There is an old Transamerica building that is now used by the Church of Scientology. It was fist used in 1909 as The Bank of Italy. Giannini continued using it as a bank in 1929. And, in 1949, there was a (first?) Jewish service held here with a plaque commemorating the occasion. Interestingly, the star of David can be seen on several of the fire escapes going up and down the side of the building. It's a very interesting architecture as it is shaped like the very common geometric shape: the triangle. It almost seems like a slice of pie shoved between two blocks.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Peterharris32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2016

There are simply many more places to visit at the neighbourhood than this square. For example: City Lights!

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank Enhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This is a really attractive and interesting part of town. It doesn’t take long to visit – we just walked around the few blocks admiring the architecture in a few minutes. We were walking through Jackson Square on a walking tour of the city and therefore it was well worth the time to stop, however if your time in San Francisco is really limited there are other places I would place higher on the list.

Date of experience: July 2012
1  Thank Sara_and_Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The Jackson Square district struck us as being an interesting area to visit, offering a historical view at a district that has retained much of its character and charm as well as offering opportunity to see buildings which survived the 1906 quake and fire. This made us curious enough to make our way to the Jackson Square area after our morning visit to Embarcadero.

Unfortunately, armed only with a couple of printouts of this historic area we found this a rather difficult and slightly frustrating place to visit. We found very little information or signs pointing us to specific sights to visit and eventually felt a bit lost, unsure of what we were supposed to find in this district. Having said that, we did enjoy the industrial feel to many of the buildings in this area, they resemble popular urban industrial developments that we have visited elsewhere but seem to be the genuine article.

Overall, a nice area to walk around but do make sure you have studied this area and have sufficient information with you to understand what you are looking at. As the previous reviewer suggests, probably best to come where with an actual guide if who knows the area.

Date of experience: September 2012
1  Thank BradJill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews