We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beatiful place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Legion of Honor

Legion of Honor
Book In Advance
More Info
$15.00*
and up
Legion of Honor Museum Admission
Ranked #17 of 528 things to do in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An outstanding collection of European art in a gorgeous hilltop museum setting.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“beatiful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Must see site - both the building itself and surrounding area is beautiful. Some great temporary exhibits are on most of the time.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Irina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,541 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,053
    401
    72
    11
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“love the changing exhibits and the current Impressionism one is gorgeous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Beautifully and artfully arranged with boating tying in to the America's Cup races this summer. Fun.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank sfoshila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Museum...and more!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

This is a great place to visit if you like museums. It is situated in the middle Lincoln Park Golf Course. Check the museum site for any special exhibits. It's also a great place for a short hike. You can take a,short stroll and see breathtaking views of the Golden Gate Bridge. Here's a great tip...Find the 17th tee box on the golf course for the best photo op! You can also easily access a trail to take you to Lands End and the Ocean. It's only about 1.5 miles and pretty flat. Have fun!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Beaglebud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter Valley, NSW
Level Contributor
397 reviews
214 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We have visited the Legion of Honor on a number of occasions now and always find it a worthwhile experience. It is easily accessible via the 38 and 18 buses from Union Square/Geary Street for $2 or by car (with plentiful parking). There is a great little (inexpensive) café serving lunches and coffee/drinks. There are many interesting things to see in their permanent collection and they often have a special exhibition like 'The Impressionists on the Water' which we visited recently. We'll be back next visit to San Francisco.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Freya1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Level Contributor
128 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Love the place, plan your trip carefully....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

I love the Palace of the Legion of Honor. I am a member. Rodin, Lincoln Park, the amazing views would be enough, let alone the furniture collections and special shows. We went Tuesday for The Impressionists on the Water exhibit--gorgeous. We took a docent tour, which was time consuming and a bit frustrating because the knowledgable docent was not knowledgable about the technology.

Our other issue is parking. Impossible. There is not enough of it. Considering the number of people flocking in, many in wheel chairs or pushing walkers, it would be reasonable to expect some type of traffic control. Yes, these cultured, educated, elderly attendees get volatile when someone thinks their parking spot has been high jacked. It happened to us this week when a grisly-haired old French man yelled at us, claiming he was there first, that we were going the wrong way (he was wrong on both counts). We did not argue and were, in fact, alarmed by his behavior.

Guidance inside the museum is also lacking. Patrons should not have to guess where to go, but there is inadequate signage and no visible human resource once past the admission tables.

I may never go again, if I have to drive. We found parking, eventually. I would recommend public transportation. The de Young has such easy access and parking....

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank LLSNapa_California
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Legion of Honor also viewed

 

Been to Legion of Honor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing