We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”
Review of Legion of Honor

Legion of Honor
Book In Advance
More Info
$15.00*
and up
Legion of Honor Museum Admission
More Info
$89.00*
and up
San Francisco CityPASS
More Info
$69.00*
and up
Go San Francisco Card
Ranked #17 of 546 things to do in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: An outstanding collection of European art in a gorgeous hilltop museum setting.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator
Willard, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Great for Art lovers and all others. The Thinker in the outer part of the museum was nice and the cafe is top notch with the prices to match.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Grambo1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,643 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,125
    425
    78
    12
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Nice Museum with Beautiful Surroundings”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We arrived early Friday afternoon. We found a parking spot but the lot was almost full. My husband had to make a few business phone calls before we went into the museum so I strolled around the area while waiting for him; it was beautiful and serene. I saw the Holocaust Memorial, Golden Gate Bridge and people playing golf at the nearby course. The Holocaust Memorial is a small outdoor display but made me plenty sad. The bridge view was awesome; it’s a view from east side/ocean side of the bridge so I snapped some photos.
Inside the museum, we saw works of Picasso, Monet, Renoir and Rodin to name a few (that I recognized and remember). The exhibits were laid out nicely and made sense (not that I have deep knowledg of fine art.) If we would’ve taken advantage of the docent tour or even a self-paced audio tour, it would enhance the viewing pleasure.
One thing I misunderstood was that the museum food/drink policy. The website stated “Food and beverage allowed only in the café and adjoining terrace.” I took it as it is ok to bring my own food and drink if I consume them on the terrace (or even in the café). It wasn’t so. You can’t go out to the terrace without going through the café (which does not allow outside food/drink) and you can’t go to the café without going through the museum main entrance (which does not allow outside food/drink and they will check your bag). The bottom line is that food/drink is available for purchase at the café and you can enjoy them at the café or the terrace. No outside food/drink allowed. Also, the restrooms are located at the terrace/lower level so you won’t be able to sneak in there without paying the admission. Plan accordingly.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank SWMDL60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Gorgeous museum”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Not only does the Legion of Honor contain great works of art by Rodin, paintings by Dutch and Flemish masters, exciting special exhibits, in a scaled down replica of Paris' Legionne d'Honor. You get all of that and so much more, because it is located on a bluff overlooking the Pacific ocean. Breathe in the smell of eucalyptus trees as you contemplate both the wonders of man's creations, as well as some of the most beautiful natural scenery you will ever see!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank sanfrantravelnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful museum”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

This museum had a small yet very good collection. We always enjoy our visits, and the cafe serves very good food. Well worth the trip to this beautiful settin.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank PattyBY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“One of the World's Most Beautiful Museums”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

San Francisco's Legion of Honor Museum, exhibiting European art on behalf of the Fine Arts Museums of San Francisco, is located in a breathtaking setting. It has nice Rodin and French Decorative Arts collection, as well as a small, but intriguing Illustrated Manuscripts collection. Visiting exhibits, of which there are often more than one, are always a treat. I'm a SF native and have been visiting the Legion of Honor since childhood. If you had to pick only one or two museums while visiting SF, definitely include the Legion of Honor on your list.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rockyhillgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Legion of Honor also viewed

 

Been to Legion of Honor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing