We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Irish Coffee Pitstop is a Must!”
Review of Buena Vista

Buena Vista
Ranked #7 of 325 Nightlife in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Take in a view of the Bay at this popular Fisherman's Wharf watering hole.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Irish Coffee Pitstop is a Must!”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

I thought I had Irish Coffee before but never will anything to compare to that at the Buena Vista. While its not diet friendly, its a must try. A perfect pit stop to walking around the wharf, we sat at the bar for our coffee. So fun to watch them make it and learn the history behind the special drink. They even have a little gift shop with some fun items to take home, including the glasses and whiskey to make them at home.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank GMSReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    61
    24
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Delicious Irish Coffees”
Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Must visit spot for a drink when in San Francisco. The place was packed on the two weekdays I was there, but enter with an open mind, enjoy an irish coffee, and embrace the shared table policy.

Helpful?
Thank rrido8
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Bad service equals bad spot.”
Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

Got a referral from a friend about this spot for breakfast but such bad service by the waitress made appetites of mine and my friends go away. Seemed like she didn't care about her job as she was like a statue as she had no facial reactions, no greetings, no smiles, etc.... Maybe she shouldn't work as a waitress anymore.

Helpful?
1 Thank Scotty000M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great food, ok service”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Went here for breakfast Sunday morning. Had not realized there was a "shared table" arrangement, which I'm not overly fond of but we ended up with two sets of very nice table mates so it was tolerable. Service was slow, but the staff was pleasant enough. I had an Irish Coffee, corned beef hash with eggs/potatoes/toast while my husband had Cinnamon Toast and sausage. He said his was good, and mine was extremely good. Only complaint is that the coffee was very small for the price, but food servings were good size. We would return.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank travelercg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Introduction to Irish Coffee after Alcatraz tour”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Nita, our red head Irish looking waitress, definitely made our visit a most enjoyable time. We sat in a small back room area, right in front of the window, so we had a fun view or the area and the people, as we sipped our first ever Irish Coffees. Our group of four agreed it was well worth finding this place that was recommended by a friend.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank chan49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buena Vista also viewed

 

Been to Buena Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing