We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Tour of San Francisco”

A Friend in Town Tours
Ranked #86 of 290 Tours in San Francisco
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Enjoy customized private tours of San Francisco (incl. places the big buses can't go), Napa& Sonoma wine country, Silicon Valley, Carmel, Big Sur. Unusual itineraries include: locales from Hitchcock's "Vertigo"; Russian River Wine Country; Filoli gardens. You can be picked up at your home, the airport, your hotel, even at your cruise ship dock--or dropped off there. We are especially accommodating to those with limited mobility, older folks, energetic children, foodies, photographers...and offer a warm dry alternative on rainy days. Come experience the off-the-beaten-path wineries where they'll treat you like VIPs, great gardens, legions of quaint Victorians, The Castro, hang-gliders, lighthouses, beautiful hidden vistas. Been here many times before? You still haven't seen all of our wonders.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
honiton
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Tour of San Francisco”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Jessie gave us a brilliant tour, he was very knowledgeable about the area, it's residents and the flora and fauna. He was very pleasant company and easy to talk to, able to answer most questions we threw at him. He was flexible in showing us what we wanted to see and quite happy to build the tour around our specific wants. Frankly the experience exceeded our expectations and was well worth the fee, I would recommend to anyone visiting the area.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank missy609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    6
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Our best USA tour”
Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

Jesse was very professional, personable and accommodating. We booked him for two separate tours and loved both. He loves his city and it rubs off. We had limited time and mobility so being driven meant we saw so much. We used similar high-end tour operators in Washington DC and New York and Jesse is our number one.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank N M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Wonderful Tour of San Francisco with Jesse”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

This was a wonderful day long tour of San Francisco. With limited time, my husband and I wanted to see as much as we could, so we booked the day long San Francisco, Sausilito and Muir Woods tour. It was such a beautiful and informative way to see this area with it's most incredible iconic landmarks. Jesse gives you lots of time to really sightsee, take pictures, and ask questions. And, you're in a comfortable van with great sight lines. Since my husband loves architecture, a lot of time was spent discussing the great homes and structures in the area. It was nice because with Jesse's confirmation he sends a form for you to fill out detailing what you're interested in seeing. Jesse hit all the landmarks. We even had a delicious Italian lunch @Angelinos in Sausilito on Jesse's suggestion. It was so good, we decided to skip our dinner reservation that evening as we were exhausted and full from all the excitement of the day. As a follow up, Jesse sent us a suggestion for Theatre that were were disgussing and another great eatery. We highly recommend Jesse, truly A Friend in Town.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank AndieCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“An easy way to see San Francisco in one day!”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We had a short visit to SF after Christmas so we booked with A Friend in Town to see SF in one day. Jesse was on time, knowledgeable and worked very hard to show us everything we wanted to see in San Francisco. Jesse emailed me a list of SF attractions after confirming our booking so I could tell him in advance what we'd like to see and places we didn't want to go. This way, he could plan the trip for us better. We enjoyed the interesting and unique houses he showed us, the charming seaside town of Sausalito and the walk through the redwood forest at Muir woods. The quick photo stop at The Palace of Fine Art was also worth it. Jesse also took many family photos for us.
The only thing we didn't do on the tour was driving down Lombard Street as the traffic was so bad and the police was at the the top end of Lombard Street stopping cars turning into Lombard Street from the cross streets. Jesse tried to go around the blocks a few times but it was getting late so we told him to give up.
We enjoyed our time with Jesse in SF. He got along with our boys well. Just a small note that he did say a "s" word 2-3 times when we were stuck in the traffic unexpectedly and our kids looked at each other thinking that he was a bit naughty to say that. I'm sure if we have a chance to go back to SF doing the Yosemite tour with him, he'd look after us very well like an old friend!
Tips: What we did the next day was took the Powell-Hyde Cable car down to Fisherman's Wharf at 8:00 am ( Jesse's suggestion) and then took a taxi and asked the driver to drive us down Lombard Street back down to Pier 39 (my idea!). This way, we did two major tourist attractions without the crowds!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank traveltann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse W, Owner at A Friend in Town Tours, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank You! very much for taking the time to write such a thorough review. And please accept my apology for the use of any expletives. I will be more diligent in the future to avoid doing so again. I so enjoyed your sons' intelligence, energy and senses of humor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keighley, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Day Out”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We booked Jesse's tour of San Francisco, Sausalito and Muir Woods and it was a brilliant way to see as much as we could in our limited time in the city. Jesse was friendly with a great knowledge on of the history of San Francisco. He accommodated my husbands wheelchair and we had the best sandwich EVER from the Bait shop deli in Sausalito (Which my hubby keeps talking about). When we visit again we will definitely be booking another tour with our new friend.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Friend in Town Tours also viewed

 

Been to A Friend in Town Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing