We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb Personal Tour Completed!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of A Friend in Town Tours

A Friend in Town Tours
Ranked #91 of 285 Tours in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Enjoy customized private tours of San Francisco (incl. places the big buses can't go), Napa& Sonoma wine country, Silicon Valley, Carmel, Big Sur. Unusual itineraries include: locales from Hitchcock's "Vertigo"; Russian River Wine Country; Filoli gardens. You can be picked up at your home, the airport, your hotel, even at your cruise ship dock--or dropped off there. We are especially accommodating to those with limited mobility, older folks, energetic children, foodies, photographers...and offer a warm dry alternative on rainy days. Come experience the off-the-beaten-path wineries where they'll treat you like VIPs, great gardens, legions of quaint Victorians, The Castro, hang-gliders, lighthouses, beautiful hidden vistas. Been here many times before? You still haven't seen all of our wonders.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Superb Personal Tour Completed!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Jesse is without doubt the most experienced fun travel guide in San Fran. I bought into Jesse soley from his previous endorsements online and it was the perfect decision to make. I was in San Fran for only a few hours and he tailor made me a tour that enabled me to see and experience all the fantastic things this great city has to offer and to hear from the experienced man himself all the super facts along the way. Thoroughly enjoyable and I would recommend Jesse to all business and leisure travelers without question.

Thank you Jesse, you truly are a passionate San Franciscan and that has now totally rubbed off on me too. I love this city!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank davebatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    6
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful tours with 'A Friend In Town'!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Jesse was our tour guide while in San Francisco for a week with our friends from Chicago. The San Francisco city tour was wonderful; including Muir Woods and Sausalito. Jesse is so knowledgeable and really helped us get acclimated to the city so we could later return to several sites on our own. Jesse suggested wonderful winery tours and tastings during the Wine Country tour to both Napa and Sonoma and we had a blast! Very informative, accommodating, great conversation, and just a great time! Thanks again Jesse.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Itscrazymama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Two Great Tours”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

Two great full day tours with Jesse, one of Monterey and Carmel inclusive of the 17 mile drive and one of Muir Woods/Wine Country. I was looking for a way to have my family experience the surrounding areas in San Francisco without the stress of renting a car, etc. Jesse was the best. So knowlegeable, reliable and fun to be with. Both of my children (16 & 26) couldn't believe how much they learned and saw. Thanks for two great tours. Truly worth the experience.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mlferguson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great way to see the city!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

Having grown up in Northern California we figured taking our two French Students on a tour would be a great adventure. After sitting down trying to map a full day we quickly realized we didn't know the city as well as we liked. Along with the hassles of traffic and parking the whole ordeal began to feel a little overwhelming. That is where "A Friend In Town" comes in. I did a quick Google search and found them to be highly recommended so we book it. It was the best decision we have made in a long time. Besides eliminating the hassles of traffic and parking Jesse was able to add his knowledge of every site we visited. This made the tour extra special for all. By using Jesse we removed all the stress for us and experienced the best tour imaginable. If there were a 6 star rating Jesse would get it from us. Thanks for a great Tour!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Hayden P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great tours”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

A tour of San Francisco by Jesse of a 'A friend in town' was recommended to us by family who had undertaken tours with Jesse a few years earlier and loved it. We chose to do two half day tours of San Francisco and the bay, which included a trip to Muir Redwoods. What great tours. We let Jesse decide what sights would be best to see and we weren't disappointed. Jesse was a wonderful tour guide, very knowledge, friendly, and passionate about San Francisco.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 597LisaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Friend in Town Tours also viewed

 
California, United States
 

Been to A Friend in Town Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing