We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant afternoon exploring San Francisco with Jesse”

A Friend in Town Tours
Ranked #88 of 284 Tours in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Enjoy customized private tours of San Francisco (incl. places the big buses can't go), Napa& Sonoma wine country, Silicon Valley, Carmel, Big Sur. Unusual itineraries include: locales from Hitchcock's "Vertigo"; Russian River Wine Country; Filoli gardens. You can be picked up at your home, the airport, your hotel, even at your cruise ship dock--or dropped off there. We are especially accommodating to those with limited mobility, older folks, energetic children, foodies, photographers...and offer a warm dry alternative on rainy days. Come experience the off-the-beaten-path wineries where they'll treat you like VIPs, great gardens, legions of quaint Victorians, The Castro, hang-gliders, lighthouses, beautiful hidden vistas. Been here many times before? You still haven't seen all of our wonders.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
1 review
“Brilliant afternoon exploring San Francisco with Jesse”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012

We had a one night stop over in San Francisco and wanted to make the most of our time there and Jesse certainly did that!

He picked us up at the airport and took us out for a wonderful afternoon exploring the San Francisco area, he took care to ensure we saw everything we had indicated were important to us plus heaps more, and his knowledge of the history of the area was fascinating.

We would highly recommend this service to others and will probably be using Jesse again our selfs when we return to the area.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    6
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bento Gonçalves
1 review
“A tour for me”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

I did the silicon valley tour. It was very special, because "A Friend in Town" made a tour according my expectations. Since first contact until now, Jesse was very kind and tell us everything about the Bay Area. He is honest and an excelent guide. Thanks!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Jesse turned a long layover in San Francisco into a great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

Our return flight from Las Vegas included a 7 hour layover in San Francisco. We were traveling on New Years Day and thought it unlikely that we could get a tour on this holiday, but Jesse came through. He met us at the baggage claim at SF airport and provided a great 5 hour tour, which included the major highlights of San Francisco. He readily accommodated our requests (for restroom breaks, hunger stops, and photo opp's), giving the tour a truly customized feel. What we enjoyed and appreciated most was the wealth of information he shared. My father had taken numerous business trips to San Francisco, and he said he learned more about the city and visited more places with Jesse than during all of his past stays combined.

It cost a bit more for pickup and dropoff at the airport, but the convenience was well worth it. Jesse's van (a Honda Odyssey) was well maintained and comfortably accommodated our party of 6, including a toddler in a car seat. Overall, Jesse made a long (dreaded) layover in San Francisco a memorable experience.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank HIJetsFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarzana, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“BEST!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

We had been to SF many times, but never with our kids (ages 15, 10 and 8) so decided to get a tour. Jesse was great ... he made the tour age appropriate and interesting (even for me).

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank SandraMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2011

We toured San Francisco, Muir Woods, Sonoma and Napa Valley. Jesse was very informative and very pleasant to spend the day with.

We would tour with A Friend in Town any time we are in San Francisco.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Friend in Town Tours also viewed

 

Been to A Friend in Town Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing