We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great City Tour and Muir Woods”

A Friend in Town Tours
Ranked #86 of 290 Tours in San Francisco
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Enjoy customized private tours of San Francisco (incl. places the big buses can't go), Napa& Sonoma wine country, Silicon Valley, Carmel, Big Sur. Unusual itineraries include: locales from Hitchcock's "Vertigo"; Russian River Wine Country; Filoli gardens. You can be picked up at your home, the airport, your hotel, even at your cruise ship dock--or dropped off there. We are especially accommodating to those with limited mobility, older folks, energetic children, foodies, photographers...and offer a warm dry alternative on rainy days. Come experience the off-the-beaten-path wineries where they'll treat you like VIPs, great gardens, legions of quaint Victorians, The Castro, hang-gliders, lighthouses, beautiful hidden vistas. Been here many times before? You still haven't seen all of our wonders.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Port Arthur, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great City Tour and Muir Woods”
Reviewed April 18, 2011

My family of four adults and infant spent two half days with Jesse(A Friend in Town). Jesse is great with History of the area. We learn so much more than any book could give you. He started off by asking what we had seen so far, what we would like to see. Hit all the highlights and more. Jesse was also helpful with restaurants for us to eat at and wineries to visit. They were great leads. I would do this tour company again.
The tour was not rushed to get to the next site and no crowd of people. Have made a Friend in Town for sure.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank mjpar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    6
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Monterey/Carmel Tour - FANTASTIC!”
Reviewed March 28, 2011

Wonderful, personalized tour of Monterey/Carmel. Jesse took an endless list of requests and created a tour itinerary that was fun and informative. He picked us up from the airport and dropped us off at a friend's house in the evening. He was charming and funny and was a pleasure to spend the day with. A little more free time to spend exploring each town would have been nice, but we had so much to see in such a short time. Thanks Jesse!

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
Thank MCF14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
“Best way to see San Francisco and Area”
Reviewed March 23, 2011

Jesse was a great guide and a very interesting person! We did the 8 hour San Francisco tour and saw all the touristy sites as well as some things off the beaten path. He had a lot of info and background on the cities history and sites. Bring a camera and wear comfortable shoes. Definitely the best way to see San Francisco and area!

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
Thank mrguy16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Tennessee
1 review
“There is no better way to see San Francisco! Personal Service at it's best.”
Reviewed March 20, 2011

We toured the city with two 17 year old boys and they loved it as much as we did. Jesse tailored the tour with our teenagers in mind and we were able to visit different places where the tour buses cannot go. He also avoided the places where we had been or were planning to go on our own which maximized the time spent visiting new and exciting points of interest. His knowledge of the city as well as interesting current and historical facts made this one of the best tours I have experienced. I would highly recommend Jesse from "A Friend in Town". You will not be disappointed.

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
Thank rbragin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect day”
Reviewed October 29, 2010

We had a day tour to the Napa with Jesse from A Friend in Town and it was wonderful. Jesse recommended three very different wineries and a place for lunch and the whole day was perfect. We would recommend this service to anyone wanting a very special day out in San Francisco. I am sure any tour Jesse ran would be enjoyable and informative. He was great company and the tour was everything we had hoped for.

Helpful?
Thank kpjmelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Friend in Town Tours also viewed

 

Been to A Friend in Town Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing