We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If your a DISNEY FAN, A MUST.”

Walt Disney Family Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.00*
and up
The Walt Disney Family Museum Admission in San Francisco
Ranked #17 of 528 things to do in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
161 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“If your a DISNEY FAN, A MUST.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

This is a relatively new museum in SAN FRANCISCO. As I said in my title review, if your a DISNEY fan, you will really enjoy this museum, it is really staged and choreographed by experts. Take your time and enjoy,

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank barbara b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,465
    510
    120
    21
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
400 reviews
163 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 565 helpful votes
“For the die-hards”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Just having spent 5 days in Anaheim it was just a small slice of what is available further south in the state. I suppose it would also cater for overseas business travellers who do not have time to head down to Anaheim for the full Disney experience. Great to pick up some merchandise and souvenirs.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Phoebenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citrus Heights, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“seeing how snow white movie was created”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

My favorite cartoon character, ever, was set up at the walt disney museum in Persido...showing how it was created. This was walt's first animated creation in 1937...each intricate detail was pictured in the show. I took pictures of it all and will add all pics to my cartoon scrapbook.
Truly a wonderful day and show that I will remember forever. Thank you Walt!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marti808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
92 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Great for kids and adults alike, though it can get pricey”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

I have now visited the Walt Disney Family Museum - once relatively soon after it opened several years ago - and once over this past Easter weekend. It's time, then, to give it a proper review.

The museum is truly an excellent presentation of Walt Disney himself, and the world of animation (and imagination) that he created. The layout makes great, efficient use of one of the historic buildings on the Presidio. I think what works best about this museum is that the Disney family, not the behemoth that his company has become, were the primary drivers of this museum. As such, the exhibits feel much more personal - and thus truer to Walt Disney's vision - than a corporate portrayal.

On my most recent visit, I noted the addition of many more exhibits and additional information, which made it worthwhile to revisit. There is good use of a combination of actual artifacts/memorabilia, video, touch-screen computers, and other audiovisual media. Nothing feels particularly overwhelming or intrusive. Surprisingly, there are few chokepoints throughout the museum. There is room to stop and watch, or for kids to stretch out and be creative (which is encouraged through a variety of exhibits geared specifically to them.

What is truly impressive is that this is one of those rare museums that will engage youth and adults alike. In both visits, I was struck by the fact that you can see just how timeless Disney's classic works are, simply by observing the patrons. Adults like me become kids in a way, as the exhibits evoke memories of youth. Similarly, youth are enthralled by the cartoons that entertained us, our parents, and even our grandparents. It makes you re-evaluate your beliefs that things that entertained one generation won't do so with the younger generations.

Through the course of the museum, you also get to learn - and see examples of - some of the technological advances that Disney created to accomplish the visual effects in his animation. You also get to see how far ahead of his time he was in the use of live-action acting incorporated with animation. Those provide their own sense of amazement, because it "pulls the curtain" on the complexity of their work, but also in seeing things you thought had only been created in the last 20-25 years.

Even when you near the end of the exhibits that touch on Disney's passing, you still somehow leave feeling uplifted, rather than morose or sad. It's hard to pinpoint how that happens, but I think it's all in the presentation and the aforementioned happiness that the prior exhibits bring you.

If there is a drawback to the museum, it is that they are pretty pricey. In fact, it seemed far more pricey on my most recent visit in comparison to my first. The most notable example is in their gift shop, which has some very neat merchandise, but the prices are about five times more expensive than you would think it would be - even taking into account that museum shops tend to be priced a little higher to begin with.

The museum is easily accessible via car (probably the best option) or MUNI, though it can be a little tricky to find if you're unfamiliar with San Francisco and the grounds of the Presidio. Metered parking is within a couple hundred yards of the museum, and is relatively inexpensive compared to parking elsewhere in the city.

Overall, the Walt Disney Family Museum is well worth a couple hours of your time, no matter your age. It is educational, but most of all, it is fun!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Generic90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Evrey Disney fan's fantasy.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

I absolutely loved it!!! It's everything Disney, everything you could imagine. It's a great place to take the family and there's so much history.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Yzabelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Walt Disney Family Museum also viewed

 

Been to Walt Disney Family Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing