We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Fascinating Life of Walter Elias Disney”

Walt Disney Family Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.00*
and up
The Walt Disney Family Museum Admission in San Francisco
Ranked #17 of 528 things to do in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A Fascinating Life of Walter Elias Disney”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

The museum was very nicely done. I really enjoy the history of Walt Disney's life from his early childhood until his death in 1964. The museum takes you through a fascinating journey, unfortunately as with most museums you can't pictures except within an open area that displayed some of Walt's awards and artifacts of his life. I brought my little one and although she had fun playing with everything that she could get her hands on, I think that this museum is more suited for teenagers and adults. Overall I found it very enjoyable.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank thecitysanfrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,465
    510
    120
    21
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Longview, Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing - take comfy walking shoes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

This is one of San Francisco's best kept secrets! The entire flow of the museum is so well thought out. As it chronicles Walt Disney's life, it goes from black and white and simple to color and gorgeous and breathtaking. After reading and experiencing so much, I found myself in tears as I explored the last gallery.

There is a lot to read and experience but it's not a Disney attraction where you will simply sit and be entertained. Younger children will likely become bored quickly. Be sure you have comfy walking shoes because you will be doing a lot of standing.

For the generation who grew up with Walt Disney, this is an enriching experience and you will find yourself immersed in your childhood. This museum is an absolute treasure.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank RuthAStoddard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacifica, California, United States
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“DISNEY FAMILY MUSEUM”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

GREAT place to get a little history on mickey, minnine and the other characts that make disney what it is today see the first sketch of mickey mouse and the train that was in Walt Disney's home for many years and it is conventinetly located in the Presideo near Muni and easy access and great view of the GG bridge and a alot of good places to eat. I am a cabbie and drive people there alot

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank stephen c W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Brings back childhood memories of Disney”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

This museum has amazing history on Walt Disney and what he has achieved over the years. There is a huge array of exhibits to see, and you should allow plenty of time to visit here.
We spent a few hours, but you could spend all day here. The large number of rooms have plenty of exhibits, displays, memorabilia, videos etc which takes a lot of time to get around. The rooms just went on and on, with so much to see. There are so many exhibits on display, I don't think Walt Disney ever threw anything away, but it makes for an amazing museum.

This is a museum, more suited to adults, young children may not find this quite so interesting. We loved it as it brought back lots of childhood memories of all the Disney cartoons and movies we use to watch. Lots and lots of history here, which we can all relate to.

It has been only open for the past three years, and not well known in San Francisco, but my husband and I feel that it is a "must do", especially if you loved all those old Disney cartoons like Mickey Mouse, Donald Duck, etc.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wanagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
211 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“A great way to learn about Walt Disney”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

The museum is well preserved - quite expensive for what it is but a good experience.

This is to learn about the Disney family origins, Walt Disney's life, inspiration and work, the company he built and little about the aftermath. It's very well explained and well done and maintained. Great for hardcore fans!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Walt Disney Family Museum also viewed

 

Been to Walt Disney Family Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing