We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A MUST see for any lover of Disney!”

Walt Disney Family Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.00*
and up
The Walt Disney Family Museum Admission in San Francisco
Ranked #17 of 528 things to do in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A MUST see for any lover of Disney!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

I have been itching to go to the museum for some time now. To avoid the weekend crowd, I took a day off from work to enjoy the museum in relative peace. Wow! From the onset, I could tell I was in for an adventure. Just beyond where you pay for your admission into the museum is a room filled with all the certificates, proclamations and awards Walt won throughout his lifetime. It was really exciting to see the Academy Award, or rather awards, won for the movie “Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs.” Then you enter into the journey of the life of Walt Disney. It was an amazing ride I must say. The museum is laid out beautifully in chronological order, so you can’t miss anything. It is contemporary and very interactive, with the exhibits being narrated in Walt’s own voice. You truly get to know “The Man Behind the Mouse” from his birth to his all too sudden death at the age of 65. Walt Disney was indeed legendary and truly an innovator.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Dana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,465
    510
    120
    21
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A fascinating museum dedicated to Walt Disney.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

We visited on arrival in SF. Cost is $20 for adults. Didn't mind the cost , but waiting in line the 2 ticket sales ladies came across a bit officious. Thankfully, I'd been listening to info told to visitors ahead of us who on receipt of admittance tickets were offered tickets to a film show. When it was our turn for tickets no such offer was made to us ? I asked what the film show was & if we could see it too...maybe the line was long but she appeared to be cheesed off she'd to explain & print film tickets for us? We enjoyed out visit which really was a super insight to the life & family of Walt Disney. It is an adult orientated museum, lots of technical info & art work which for wee kids may be boring, but we were enthralled by it. It is true the security/ lack of pics etc in the galleries is a bit OTT, but overall we spent a good 4 hrs browsing thru the rooms which have a variety of displays. There r some great artefacts & gorgeous glass walkway with great view if golden gate bridge. It really is a celebration of a genuine, talented man.

Helpful?
Thank Keveeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
94941
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“History”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

At first we were dubious about another Disney facility but it
had- has something for everyone. Good for locals and tourists
A bit GU but parking is easy--should be free

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank MillValleyFoodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

What a beautiful Museum. Well worth the price. Great time. Beautiful view too. If you love Disney you will love this. Take the free shuttle from the golden gate bridge. It's the presidio shuttle. Just enjoy.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary-Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Boring and Expensive!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Skip this. Boring even for lifelong Disney fans! Not a lot to see here, even the view of the Golden Gate is obstructed.

Helpful?
5 Thank Ronarchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Walt Disney Family Museum also viewed

 

Been to Walt Disney Family Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing