We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average breakfast, lots of fruit but not worth the wait”
Review of Hollywood Cafe

Hollywood Cafe
Ranked #12 of 5,712 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Neighborhood: Fisherman’s Wharf
Edinburgh
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Average breakfast, lots of fruit but not worth the wait”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

This is a bustling breakfast venue near Fisherman’s Wharf and is popular with tourists and locals alike. There is normally a wait (in our case~20 minutes). The food was average at best. We had a mixture of pancakes (not well made), French toast, poached eggs and a spinach omelet with a homeopathic amount of spinach. The warm bread was brought before our dishes, so was cold by the time they arrived. All the dishes are accompanied by a large selection of fruit, which overwhelms the breakfast. Drinks were brought haphazardly and requested water never arrived. An odd place whose reputation did not seem deserved.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank adeno_34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom J, Guest Relations Manager at Hollywood Cafe, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you for giving us a try, Adena. We're sorry to hear you weren't more enthusiastic about your meal and we will use your comments to try to improve. We appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,259
    701
    156
    45
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Well worth the wait!”
Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

Went here for breakfast on the recommendation of our concierge. There was a wait but it was manageable. Food was wonderful, fresh fruit was amazing. Staff was very friendly. They thanked us for waiting and did not rush us. Worth the trip!

Helpful?
1 Thank AKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom J, Guest Relations Manager at Hollywood Cafe, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Hi AKD We're happy to know you had an enjoyable meal. Thank you for the visit and the nice review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

My husband and I stopped here based on the tripadvisor reviews. We were prepared to wait a while but much to our surprise, we were seated right away. We both ordered breakfast, despite it almost being lunch time. It came out pretty fast and the plates were nearly over flowing with food. Everything was so delicious! My husband got the fruit bowl and it was great! An amazing assortment of fruits: apple, orange, pineapple, blueberry, blackberry, raspberry, cantaloup, honeydew... I highly recommend a stop here. I wish I didn't live 5.5 hours away because I'm craving it again!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolenaCampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom J, Guest Relations Manager at Hollywood Cafe, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you for the kind words Carolena. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Affton, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Five Star Food at reasonable prices”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

We eat here every time we come to S.F. Consistently, great food and good prices. Great breakfasts. Gets fairly crowded but it is well worth the wait.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosemary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom J, Guest Relations Manager at Hollywood Cafe, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
We appreciate the multiple visits, Rosemary. Thank you for your continued patronage!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Impressive. Try the bacon.”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

The food tastes great and portions are very large. The fresh fruit garnish was a mini-meal on its own. Try the bacon.

The staff run this place with military precision. Just as well because it is overrun with tourists. At least, it was in July when we visited. But may one complain when one is one oneself? Do not be dissuaded by the line up. Sign in and watch how efficiently the staff process you and your food.

I did not note the price because I was too full to care.

I was skeptical how a breakfast place could be ranked #2 on TA. Once in San Francisco I noticed that breakfast cafes proliferate so it made a little more sense. Then when you eat there, you realize it can't be beat in its class.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom J, Guest Relations Manager at Hollywood Cafe, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
We're glad you stopped by Ken and we're happy to know you enjoyed your meal. Thank you for the visit and review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hollywood Cafe also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Hollywood Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing