We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Spot for Breakfast or Lunch”
Review of Hollywood Cafe

Hollywood Cafe
Ranked #13 of 5,801 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Neighborhood: Fisherman’s Wharf
Reviewed July 5, 2014

There was about a 1/2 hour wait, but it was worth it. Food and presentation were great. Prices were reasonable, portions were big. Location is near Fisherman's Wharf. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gus1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom J, Guest Relations Manager at Hollywood Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

We appreciate your endorsement, Gus. Thank you for the visit and the nice review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,275)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,634 - 1,638 of 3,275 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2014

We first discovered this place quite some years ago, and every time we go back it never disappoints. The breakfasts are second to non. It would too long to write everything that's is good about the food. So go and try it for yourself, but be prepared to wait for a table.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank AERLJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom J, Guest Relations Manager at Hollywood Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Hi AERLJR. We appreciate all the return visits and your endorsement. Thank you for coming back and we look forward to seeing you again next trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Expect to wait for a table a couple of minutes, but once your are seated you are in for a treat! Fantactic food!!! We orderd the Club Sandwich and a Bacon Omelette and we loved it! Expecially the fried that comes with the Club! Be awere that they close pretty early, around 2pm.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Thomas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom J, Guest Relations Manager at Hollywood Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Thank you for visiting us Thomas and we appreciate the kind words. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your meal so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Long wait for table, no doubt, due to Trip Advisor's (former) #1 rating (now #2). Very good service and breakfasts, although one of my poached eggs was overcooked (the other was fine). Fresh fruit was good too. Coffee seemed too strong for my wife (I don't drink it). There are far better breakfast choices, such as Sweet Maple, which is currently rated strangely as #39, which has far better food and no lineups.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank thebaron007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom J, Guest Relations Manager at Hollywood Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Thank you for your visit and nice review, The Baron. You are right, Sweet Maple is another great breakfast spot but we all have our strengths. We're happy you gave us a try and we hope to see you again next time you are in SF.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

4 friends eating a good breakfast. I hade some really nice panncakes. With very good tasting fruit. Waited 20 minutes. Worth it! Everybody happy and full stumach.

Thank frap69
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tom J, Guest Relations Manager at Hollywood Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

We're glad to hear you and your friends enjoyed breakfast with us, Frap. Thank you for coming in!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Hollywood Cafe also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Hollywood Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing