We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A Great Spot for Breakfast or Lunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hollywood Cafe

Hollywood Cafe
Ranked #13 of 5,605 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Fisherman’s Wharf
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A Great Spot for Breakfast or Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

There was about a 1/2 hour wait, but it was worth it. Food and presentation were great. Prices were reasonable, portions were big. Location is near Fisherman's Wharf. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gus1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom J, Guest Relations Manager at Hollywood Cafe, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
We appreciate your endorsement, Gus. Thank you for the visit and the nice review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,020 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,145
    663
    147
    44
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The best breakfast in San Francisco”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

We first discovered this place quite some years ago, and every time we go back it never disappoints. The breakfasts are second to non. It would too long to write everything that's is good about the food. So go and try it for yourself, but be prepared to wait for a table.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AERLJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom J, Guest Relations Manager at Hollywood Cafe, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Hi AERLJR. We appreciate all the return visits and your endorsement. Thank you for coming back and we look forward to seeing you again next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

Expect to wait for a table a couple of minutes, but once your are seated you are in for a treat! Fantactic food!!! We orderd the Club Sandwich and a Bacon Omelette and we loved it! Expecially the fried that comes with the Club! Be awere that they close pretty early, around 2pm.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Thomas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom J, Guest Relations Manager at Hollywood Cafe, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for visiting us Thomas and we appreciate the kind words. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your meal so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
100 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Very good, but overated”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

Long wait for table, no doubt, due to Trip Advisor's (former) #1 rating (now #2). Very good service and breakfasts, although one of my poached eggs was overcooked (the other was fine). Fresh fruit was good too. Coffee seemed too strong for my wife (I don't drink it). There are far better breakfast choices, such as Sweet Maple, which is currently rated strangely as #39, which has far better food and no lineups.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank thebaron007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom J, Guest Relations Manager at Hollywood Cafe, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for your visit and nice review, The Baron. You are right, Sweet Maple is another great breakfast spot but we all have our strengths. We're happy you gave us a try and we hope to see you again next time you are in SF.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

4 friends eating a good breakfast. I hade some really nice panncakes. With very good tasting fruit. Waited 20 minutes. Worth it! Everybody happy and full stumach.

Helpful?
Thank frap69
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tom J, Guest Relations Manager at Hollywood Cafe, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
We're glad to hear you and your friends enjoyed breakfast with us, Frap. Thank you for coming in!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Hollywood Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Hollywood Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing