We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great breakfast!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hollywood Cafe

Hollywood Cafe
Ranked #13 of 5,626 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Fisherman’s Wharf
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

Let me start by saying I love breakfast... This place served one of the best I've had. The portions are huge and the food quality and service are worthy on the #1 ranking. The mimosas and chi tea latte were delicious. The eggs and hash browns were perfect. Finally, the service was attentive and fast.

If you like a good breakfast, I highly recommend this spot.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lissiejane-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom J, Guest Relations Manager at Hollywood Cafe, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Hi Lissiejane. Thank you for the compliments and we're happy to hear you enjoyed your meal. We'd love to see you again next time you are in SF!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,048 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,163
    671
    149
    44
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
176 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great breakfast. ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

We had breakfast here with good friends - fun experience.

We had to wait for about 20 minutes, but it was worth it.

If you order something that comes with a fruit bowl, you will be surprised how much fruit is in that bowl.

We tried some of the signature dishes - Vivian Leigh, Audrey Hepburn and Meat Lovers Omelet, all were great ....yum!! All of us were more than satisfied with our meals.

We will be back to try something else on their menu.

Oh, and the service was great! What can I say ... TRY IT :-D

Helpful?
1 Thank Hotfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom J, Guest Relations Manager at Hollywood Cafe, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you Hotfarm. We're happy to hear you and your friends had a good time. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“ONE PLACE YOU HAVE TO GO TO FOR BREAKFAST!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

We went here on recommendations of other Tripadvisors. We were there at 7am and the place was packed! There were 2 tables left! We were shocked to see it so busy at that time in the morning.
We ordered breakfast and was not disappointed. It was very fresh and lots of it. The coffee was really nice and free refills given out regularly.
Breakfast for 2 of us came to $35 with the tip included but will fill you up so much you won't need lunch.
The staff are attentive and work hard.
This place is near the Holiday Inn and easy to find.
If you do go you just need to write your name on the list inside as there is always a queue. Seats are available outside as well as in for all you smokers!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Scorpio40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom J, Guest Relations Manager at Hollywood Cafe, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
We appreciate your endorsement, Scorpio40. Thank you for the visit and the nice review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmdale, California, Usa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Small but powerful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

My favorite Fisherman’s Wharf breakfast place. It is tiny, but the food is good quality, served promptly, and more than adequate portions, all at a very reasonable (for SF) price.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom J, Guest Relations Manager at Hollywood Cafe, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for visiting us, Robert. We look forward to seeing you again next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
157 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“great breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

Four of us ate at this establishment on a Saturday. Although we had a wait, it was worth it. If you order something that comes with a fruit bowl, you will be surprised how much fruit is in that bowl. Two of us had the Breakfast Salad....yum!! One had the huevos rancheros and the other the crab benedict. All of us were more than satisfied with our meals.

We will be back to try something else on their menu.

Oh, and the service was great!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jackie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom J, Guest Relations Manager at Hollywood Cafe, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you Jackie. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your breakfasts and we hope to see you again next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hollywood Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Hollywood Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing