We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Confused of England” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hollywood Cafe

Hollywood Cafe
Ranked #13 of 5,626 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Fisherman’s Wharf
Great Yarmouth, England
Level Contributor
120 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Confused of England”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

Since we were staying in the Fishermans Wharf area for a few days, based in Trip Advisor reviews we naturally tried The Hollywood Café on our first morning. Now I must agree that the portions are large, the food is good (and inexpensive) and the service is great............But I am still, to this day, confused how this can be the #2 restaurant in the whole SF area??

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ispeaktheblondetruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom J, Guest Relations Manager at Hollywood Cafe, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Hi "I Speak The Blond Truth,"

Thank you for the kind words about our food and service. You are right, we're probably not the 2nd best restaurant in all of SF but we may be the best breakfast and brunch spot. Since so many Trip Advisor users eat at and review breakfast spots we get a high volume of reviews and we average a high score. We appreciate the ranking and all the support but there are a lot of great places to eat in SF--especially at dinner time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,047 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,162
    671
    149
    44
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Ate breakfast here every day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

We saw other reviews here on tripadvisor and decided to find it, which isn't far from the sea front. We were in San Fran for 4 days, and due to the UK time difference, was easy to end up here for breakfast before 8am. Put your name on the waiting list inside, with preference for inside or outside, and it's a short wait if it's busy.

Although we looked for alternative places to eat breakfast during our stay, nothing nearby looked better. I wish they had a place like this in the UK! Excellent value for money, and good menu choice.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tompsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom J, Guest Relations Manager at Hollywood Cafe, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thank you Tom for all the support and kind words. We're glad to know you enjoyed your breakfasts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Amazing piles of food for not-much money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

Excellent food, fast, at a good price. For example when you order cornflakes for $5.50 you actually get a small plate piled with fruit (banana, raspberries, melon, grapes etc) and 4 slices of toast and an enormous bowl of cornflakes with milk. We also had pancakes and other options which were equally as good.

Get there early to avoid disappointment. We ate at 7-8am a couple of times which was fine but at 10am on a Saturday there was no chance (queue right down the street!)

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank suzymhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom J, Guest Relations Manager at Hollywood Cafe, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you Suzy. We appreciate your business and great review! We hope to see you again next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crescent City, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food and Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

I enjoyed the overall dining experience at the Hollywood cafe. The food was fresh, timely and reasonably priced. The odd, wedge-shaped floor plan literally follows the footprint of the building, which added to the fun. It was a spatially-challenged way to have breakfast. I recommend his restaurant.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rjake007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom J, Guest Relations Manager at Hollywood Cafe, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Rjake, we are happy to hear you enjoyed your meal in spite of our tight quarters. Thank you for the recommendation and we hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best way to start the day in San Francisco”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

Large and healthy, if that is possible, breakfast. Fast fresh and cooked to order. Great place to eat if you are lucky enough to be at Fishermen's wharf.

Helpful?
Thank Tatartot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom J, Guest Relations Manager at Hollywood Cafe, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Hi Tatartot. We love your name and your review! Thanks for having breakfast with us and for the kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hollywood Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Hollywood Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing