We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hollywood Cafe”
Review of Hollywood Cafe

Hollywood Cafe
Ranked #12 of 5,664 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Fisherman’s Wharf
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hollywood Cafe”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Generous, wholesome breakfasts, deliciously prepared. This is the best breakfast on Fisherman's Wharf. Far better than at the local hotels, and at a lower price. The atmosphere is cheerful and bright, the staff are helpful and polite. A good family atmosphere. Sidewalk seating (my favorite) is available if you so desire. I have eaten here dozens of times and will go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom J, Guest Relations Manager at Hollywood Cafe, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Gary, thank you so much for having eating with us dozens of times. That means a lot to us and we are very appreciative of the five-star review. We look forward to seeing you again many times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,209
    685
    154
    45
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Top notch in every way!”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

I wish we would have found this place earlier on our stay, because we would have eaten here every day! We stayed in San Francisco over the Christmas holiday and just happened upon Hollywood Café because it was one of the few places open for breakfast on Christmas Day. It was literally a few minutes down the street from our hotel, so very convenient. Let me just say that this was one of the best breakfasts we've ever had, hands down. The staff was friendly, efficient, and attentive, coming by frequently to top up our drinks and ask if we needed anything. The food...wow! Large portions and very high quality food. If you like to eat, and if you like your food fresh, this is the place to go! The fresh fruit was outstanding, and the avocado on my husband's rancheros was so tasty and fresh. I don't have a single bad thing to say about this place. Prices were very good for what you get. Highly recommended! My next trip back to San Fran, I will probably eat at Hollywood Café every morning.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom J, Guest Relations Manager at Hollywood Cafe, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Hi Jen! We love all your kind words and are happy to know you enjoyed your breakfast so much with us. We look forward to seeing you several times next visit to SF!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Portions and fresh fruit”
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Incredibly they have a variety of more than ten fruits and all of them were excellent!!
Lox (salmon croissant ) was great as well
Highly recommended

Helpful?
1 Thank gesifo
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tom J, Guest Relations Manager at Hollywood Cafe, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank you for the kind words Gesifo. We're happy to know you enjoyed your food and we appreciate the recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Pearland, Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Texas sized breakfast in Cali”
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

My husband read great reviews and the cafe was around the corner from our hotel, so we decided to give it a try. What a great breakfast choice! The menu has great options and I chose an egg scramble with hash browns. So much food - all of their portions are big. My husband got great banana French toast that was so yummy! After a 15 minute wait, we sat down and were able to eat and be out within 45 minutes. Great service and hot food help as there are not many tables available. We would definitely come back!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank TexasCajun731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom J, Guest Relations Manager at Hollywood Cafe, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank you TexasCajun. We're glad to hear you and your husband enjoyed your breakfast. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Top breakfast”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

When next in San Francisco catch the tram down to Fisherman's Wharf and have breakfast at the Hollywood Cafe: you won't be disappointed! This was breakfast at its best and well worth the 15 minute wait to get a table. As well as having the usual bacon, eggs, mushrooms, tomatoes etc, they also have an unbelievable offer: for a mere $2 you can swap your hash browns for an enormous serving of fresh fruit. My wife counted 14 different types of fruit, all of it fresh and tasty. We still talk about that breakfast and have told many friends about it. We will definitely go back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank terry6004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom J, Guest Relations Manager at Hollywood Cafe, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank you Terry. We're happy to know you and your wife enjoyed your breakfast with us and we appreciate your spreading the word to your friends. We hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hollywood Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Hollywood Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing