We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous”
Review of Hollywood Cafe

Hollywood Cafe
Ranked #11 of 5,666 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Fisherman’s Wharf
Newcastle
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Again another top review for this place. Like many others I found out about it via Trip Advisor and we They really turn your food round quickly and the service is great. The hash browns are to die for. Give it a shot, you won't be disappointed, its worth it even if you have to wait for a little bit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheToonTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom J, Guest Relations Manager at Hollywood Cafe, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,216
    688
    154
    45
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
60 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great breakfast...”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I had found this resturant on trip advisor, and was very suprised it lived up to my expectations. We found easy parking on the street a block or two down from its location. There was no wait for seating. It was mid-day and was pleasantly suprised we could still get breakfast. Many dishes to pick from, as well as mimosas and bloody marys. The portion sizes were very substantal and the prices very descent. Will definitely return in the future!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kaila C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom J, Guest Relations Manager at Hollywood Cafe, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Hi Kaila,

We love to hear we lived up or exceeded expectations. Can't wait to see you again and thank for the nice words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithtown, New York
Level Contributor
107 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Pay the $2 and order the fruit!”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We ventured here on the recommendation of others. The restaurant is very small and is typically crowded for breakfast. We were a group of six and had to split up. Everyone loved their generous portions of food: pancakes, omlettes, hash browns, and delicious fresh fruit! The restaurant was located a short walk from the pier near the end of a trolley stop. We would definitely go back on our next visit to San Francisco!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank susi37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom J, Guest Relations Manager at Hollywood Cafe, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Susi,

We'd love to have you back and we're glad to hear everyone liked the food. Hopefully we see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great, great, great”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Wow, we really liked this place. We ate there 3 times it was so good. We had a party of nine, 4 adults and 5 kids, and everyone raved about the place. The french toast selections were fabulous and the fresh fruit that accompanied the dishes was the best we had ever had at a restaurant. Portions were generous. There was a wait, depending on the time of day, but it was worth it. Sit outside if possible on a nice day. I usually don't to avoid traffic noise, but this was a good experience, even on the busy street.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom J, Guest Relations Manager at Hollywood Cafe, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Hi Jeff,

We really appreciate your coming in three times and are glad to hear everyone enjoyed his or her breakfast. We hope to see you again next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food was great. Outside tables too small to hold all the great food.”
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Had the rancheros. Kids had eggs Benedict and the jr iv. All was great. One of my kids is extremely picky. If you have a picky eater just remember to ask them to hold the fruit and anything else that would make your child not eat what was ordered. But was very good and we highly recommend if you are in the wharf area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nmb373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom J, Guest Relations Manager at Hollywood Cafe, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
NMB, thank you for the kind words and for the picky eater tips. We appreciate the recommendation you gave us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hollywood Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Hollywood Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing