We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OUTSTANDING BREAKFASTS!”
Review of Hollywood Cafe

Hollywood Cafe
Ranked #12 of 5,693 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Neighborhood: Fisherman’s Wharf
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“OUTSTANDING BREAKFASTS!”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is probably the best breakfast we have ever had in the US! It's a small cafe with a lot of staff, serving outstanding food. We recently stayed for 2 nights at The Holiday Inn at Fisherman's Wharf. The Hollywood Cafe was recommended to us for breakfast and it was only a 5 minute walk away. They have a number of specials on their Breakfast Menu all named after hollywood stars. We had the "James Dean" at $11.50, which was bacon, 2 eggs, fresh fruit, toast and endless coffee. There was a huge variety of really fresh fruit, which just overflowed from the bowl it was presented in onto your plate. This is obviously a very popular place, and deservedly so, and it pays to get there early! The staff were friendly and very efficient. Well done Hollywood Cafe!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank KAREN S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom J, Guest Relations Manager at Hollywood Cafe, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you Karen. We appreciate all the nice words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,235
    693
    154
    45
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stoney Stanton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Breakfast of champions”
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Recommendation from front desk, looks basic from outside and you would probably drive/walk past but big mistake! Coffee best cup this trip ! Starbucks eat your heart out ! Food was plentiful and fresh and spot on ! And super value compared to the $65 excuse for a breakfast at the hotel!
Just on my way back before we set off down to hearts circle mountain , need to re charge the battery's full just in case.
100% you must go !
Gary .

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom J, Guest Relations Manager at Hollywood Cafe, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for the great review, Gary. I hope no one thinks we serve Wheaties from your "Breakfast of Champions" headline. Just kidding! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lulea, Sweden
Level Contributor
69 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Perfect breakfast but too stressfull”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We waited for about 30 minutes to get the table on a weekend, however, stuff served coffee during waiting time so the time went by quickly. After ordering the food arrived quickly but the place was full thus making stuff a bit confused coming to our table with wrong orders several time. Food was very tasty and portions were way too big :) However, we did not got time to fully enjoy it because after some time stuff started asking if we want to order something more and just as I started with fruit salad they came with bill and asked if I want to get doggy bag for the salad. The tone and attitude left no room for speculation about whether it was OK to stay or we should leave. So if you want good food that you will need to eat fast this place for you, however, longer breakfast is not advisable there because you may just get thrown out :/

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom J, Guest Relations Manager at Hollywood Cafe, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
NorthFood,

I appreciate your honest review and am happy to hear you liked our food. We want our guests to stay as long as they'd like. We only bring the check quickly to be efficient but by no means do we intend to rush you and will make sure to let our guests know to relax and enjoy their meal. I apologize if you felt otherwise. If you can make it back, please have a relaxing meal with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic breakfast, best hash browns ever”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We made the trip to Hollywood thanks to the reviews on TripAdvisor and we were delighted we had. A fantastic breakfast, the classic eggs and hash browns were perfect and good cappuccino and latte too. Loved it and good value at under $30 too. It epitomises why I love TripAdvisor as there is no way we would have found it or gone in without the reviews! A little gem.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HopsonYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom J, Guest Relations Manager at Hollywood Cafe, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Hopson, we are fortunate to receive so many good reviews on Trip Advisor and are glad it helped you find us. Thank you for the very nice review and please come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Tasty food”
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

We came here our last day in town and thankfully it was't too crowded. We had to only wait 15 minutes for a seat. We we're watching all the plates coming out which made us hungrier! Our food was really delicious, especially the hashbrowns which were crispy. Not many places serve it like that and I was surprised they did, without me even asking for it! The whole meal was fresh and delicious especially the abundance of the fruit plate. My only complaint would be spending 3.50 for a glass of juice, I know It doesn't seem like a lot but normally I would get a refill for that much and this place doesn't do that. Other than that don't passpass this place up.

Helpful?
1 Thank papisan
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tom J, Guest Relations Manager at Hollywood Cafe, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Papisan, we're happy to hear you had an enjoyable meal with us. Our juice is the highest quality, fresh squeezed, not from concentrate and it is a bit costly but hopefully it tasted great. Thank you for the good review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Hollywood Cafe also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Hollywood Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing