We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Believe the hype”
Review of Hollywood Cafe

Hollywood Cafe
Ranked #12 of 5,693 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Neighborhood: Fisherman’s Wharf
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Believe the hype”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Fantastic fresh breakfast. Way bigger than we're used to in the UK, but the fact that pretty much everything comes with fruit salad made me feel slightly less guilty about it. Only downside is the outside/inside route to get to the toilets, but not a problem, all things considered.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank chrisreedn4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,235
    693
    154
    45
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Come Hungry!”
Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

We went to Hollywood Cafe following Trip Advisor recommendations and made our trip on a Sunday morning before heading to Alcatraz. We had to wait but not for long and were seated inside. Tables are close together so it feels snug. Food was excellent and portions very large! We had an omelette and croissant plus fruit and think we left half of it. Bustling atmosphere, friendly staff and delicious food so can't go wrong.

Helpful?
Thank VikkiandDavidAdamson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
495 reviews
340 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 604 helpful votes
“Great Place for Breakfast near Fisherman's Wharf!”
Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

When we were in San Francisco 3 years ago we weren't too happy with our breakfast selection especially after the first morning when we ate at the most expensive Denny's ever, so we searched Trip Advisor looking for s good place. Turns out the Hollywood Cafe was right around the corner from our hotel (and the overpriced Denny's). I must say this was a great find, thanks to all the contributors to Trip Advisor. It is relatively small with both inside and outside seating. The first visit was during the week, so there wasn't much of a wait. The next visit was on Saturday, so we were a little dismayed to see a line on the sidewalk out front. We were told it would be a 10 to 15 minute wait which didn't seem possible because of the line, but we decided to wait anyway, and it ended up being 10 minutes at the most. The service is quick and the food is fresh. I had an omelet the first time and blueberry pancakes with eggs the second time. My wife had Franciscan scrambled eggs the first day and Eggs Benedict the second day. Both day we had a side order of the French Toast. Everything was delicious and certainly in ample portions. Considering we were in San Fran, the prices were reasonable (and certainly better than Denny's). I highly recommend this if you want a good breakfast or brunch.

Helpful?
5 Thank REVoigt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“thanks for the delicious food, good memories...”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Last Aug. my husband and I took our daughter on a wonderful 10days vacation to SF.
We’ve been to this restaurant twice during our stay in SF.
My husband ordered the Eggs Benedict, I ordered the French toast, fruit bowl and pancake for our daughter.
The portions were huge, and besides all of our orders came with many pieces of toast.
Eggs were poached well, French toast was really good, sweet and mild flavor.
The fresh fruit bowl has all sorts of fruits, very fresh.
Super scrumptious, loved everything!
I like the orange jam and coffee in particular, they are decent.
Not those cheap ones.

Service was good and they were very friendly, although very busy place.
We waited maybe 20 minutes, but we didn’t mind.
It's a cool place and they have good prices.
This place is worth it!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ji-YoungShim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
120 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Amazing food!!!”
Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Got there at 9am on sunday and there was a lineup. Waited 15 minutes and all worth it! The food was amazing! We had the croissant and egg bacon, and the 2 eggs and sausage. Both plates come with a massive bowl of fruits. It's way too much food for 2 people, all for less than $25.
The baguette (instead of plain ol sliced bread) was the highlight for me.
Also great service, polite servers and very helpful!
Would definitely go again if we're in sfo.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stroumpfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hollywood Cafe also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Hollywood Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing