We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great mexican fusion”
Review of Nopalito

Nopalito
Ranked #255 of 5,665 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A vibrant neighborhood Mexican kitchen celebrating the traditional cookery of Mexico and utilizing our philosophy of purchasing local, organic and sustainable ingredients.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great mexican fusion”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Really enjoyed our meal. Delicious fresh salad, great location close to Golden Gate Park, good price.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jessica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    81
    17
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Mexican ”
Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

Went here on the recommendation of a friend; it was fantastic. The atmosphere was lively, staff friendly and attentive and the food very tasty and great value for money. I got 2 of the smaller dishes (which were actually quite large) and a sangria all for less than $25. Would definitily go back and pass on thr recommendation.

Helpful?
Thank SLKouw
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
“Very good food”
Reviewed November 4, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The food here is wonderful and I cant not stop thinking about it. great service too. The bathroom is the only strange part as you have to go outside and then into the take out window. other than that it is worth every penny.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent, authentic Mexican food”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We were taken here by friends who live in area and were really impressed by the quality of food. Unlike most Mexican restaurants I've eaten in, this one was far more authentic and served up real Mexican street cuisine as opposed to enchiladas, fajitas and burritos that you can order anywhere.

There are a range of dishes to choose from, these included tapas style dishes to large meals. We shared a 4 smaller dishes and 2 larger between 4 and found this to be a good amount.

The restaurant is busy as we had to wait around 40 mins before we could be seated. They have a standing bar which served excellent tequila cocktails and good beer with fast and attentive service. The drinks are little on the pricey side - cocktails around $12 however they were well worth it, nothing like a tequila cocktail I'd had before.

The food was well priced for the quality of the food, but not an everyday restaurant. I would definitely recommend to friends.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Larnie86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere and Great Food”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Be prepared for a loud atmosphere and Great Food! We shared a pitcher of margaritas, totopos, empanadas, and pozole. The food here is upscale Mexican food.

Make reservations well in advance or go late in the evening.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EowynTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nopalito also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Nopalito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing