We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is what Mexican food should be”
Review of Nopalito

Nopalito
Ranked #251 of 5,666 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A vibrant neighborhood Mexican kitchen celebrating the traditional cookery of Mexico and utilizing our philosophy of purchasing local, organic and sustainable ingredients.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
168 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“This is what Mexican food should be”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I normally dislike Mexican food--mushy textures and overlapping flavors. But I loved this food: I had Carnitas with a cabbage salad and (very yellow) corn tortillas, and a tomatillo sauce. My partner had a vegetarian enchilada with corn, carrots, jack cheese. Both were refined yet hearty.
We sat at the bar facing the kitchen and watched the cooks hustle--

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank abcpoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    81
    17
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Both Nopalitos in one day... by mistake”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We ate in both Nopalitos by mistake yesterday. We had drinks and a couple of dishes at the Broderick branch while our friends Gary and Tam waited on 9th avenue. I just told Google: "Napolito San Francisco" and navigated to the first option. Oh well. The food was great in both locations (the fruit gazpacho was amazing) and the service was good on 9th avenue as was the ambience. There was something industrial and regimented about Broderick -- the hostess was rather unpleasant -- nothing personal... but probably overworked.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ilan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Mexican Innovative”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This was a bustling restaurant when we visited on Sat for lunch. Had a 15 minute wait. Once in the the young staff was attentive and fast. The menu was Mexican but what might sound familar wasn't. This is meant in a good way.

My quesadilla was in a fried tortilla. Fried crispy dark brown with a pork filling and shaped like a taco. Absolutely delicious but not the usual quesadilla. My companions had fried spicy fish served over with white beans with green sauce and a pork sandwich with fresh fried potato chips these dishes were also well prepared but not like anything I have ever had in another Mexican restaurant. It was all well prepared and looked ready for a photo-shoot. $50 for three people.

So be adventurous and ask the friendly servers questions no matter what you order and how familar it might sound!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dennis2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Dry Carnitas, average margaritas”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We were in San Francisco and this restaurant was crowded and I assumed most Californians have good taste in Mexican food! We asked the waiter what the best thing on the menu was, and he said Carnitas, so we ordered that and the short ribs. The carnitas were some of the worst I have ever had- dry and flavorless. The short ribs were okay, but not amazing. We asked for some hot sauce to add flavor to the carnitas and were given some kind of sweet syrup. Not good. The margaritas were fine, but not outstanding by any means.

The service was also not great- spotty and at times rude.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jen U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
113 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Creative and authentic”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We called ahead to get our name on a wait list, since reservations are not accepted. They actually update you via text message which we liked. The margaritas and service were excellent. We shared different dishes, and the place was packed on a Wednesday night! We liked the atmosphere too.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nopalito also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Nopalito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing