We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Steaks”
Review of Harris' Steakhouse

Harris' Steakhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Harris' Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #42 of 5,737 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Nob Hill
Cross street: Pacific
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing Steaks”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

My husband and I ate here on honeymoon and can truly say that it is the best steak we have had. The bar area when you walk in is lovely and the attentionnto detail excellent.
Service was fantastic, the wine directors recommendations were spot on and the steaks cooked to perfection. Cannot wait to return. Excellent!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AuckleyWhippet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    400
    190
    68
    17
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Another trip to Harris'”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Went for dinner and had the Cesar salad and porterhouse steak with a martini. The salad was good and a good size. I ordered the steak Black and Blue and it was a little too bad and not blue enough for my taste. They have done a better job on previous visits.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PeaceCorpsNorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“The place for great steak”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

I am not a serious carnivore and I probably have 3 or 4 steaks a year. But when invited to dinner at a steak house, you order the steak. And this had to be one of the best steaks I've every had.
I ordered the "Harris" steak, a bone-in New York and it was perfectly cooked, tasty and tender. Green beans and a baked potato came with the steak. I could not believe I ate the entire plate of food but it was just so good I kept eating beyond being full. Our entire party of 6 ordered dessert so I had the house made sorbet as it was all I could possibly have gotten down. There was an extensive wine list.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LSCats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
338 reviews
319 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Excellent meat”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

I was looking for a good steakhouse in SF and I definitively found it. The steak was excellent, at the level of some of the best steakhouses in NYC. The service was also very good and the wine I tried to better enjoy the meat was great.

Additionally, the usually offer live jazz music and the night I was there (Friday if I remember well) there was also a woman singing some songs. The evening was incredible.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
365 reviews
230 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Good place for a special event”
Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

Nice atmosphere with good service, but not the best steaks I've had. They were "okay," but tasted a bit greasy. We had a great not, but be prepared to pay top dollar.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Terry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harris' Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Harris' Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing