We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food, service and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Harris' Steakhouse

Harris' Steakhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Harris' Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #36 of 5,645 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Nob Hill
Cross street: Pacific
Diest, Belgium
Level Contributor
72 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent food, service and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

We had one of the best meals (during our Hawaii and San Francisco trip) in this very nice restaurant. Not just your regular steakhouse. We were seated in the bar/lounge area because we didn't make any reservations and it was pretty busy. But we had a great table and very cozy lighting.

The very friendly waiter got us quickly served with some great cocktails and did very good to make us feel welcome. Great service and even better food!

In the end he made an excellent dessert recommendation and that was absolutely fabulous, some sort of home made biscuit cake, can't recall the name.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kenk10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    385
    182
    65
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
northern california
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a fillet is rarely done better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

The best steak dinner I have had in quite some time...everything was right. The staff is attentive but not to the point that you think they are one of your dinner guests. The wine list extensive and not "over the top" on prices. We went on a Friday evening without reservations and although the restaurant was very busy they found a table for us in just a couple minutes.
In my experience, I find it very dissapointing when you look forward to a great meal at a highly praised, highly priced dinner house that doesn't deliver anything special, or worse, is less than satisfactory...but Harris' is certainly not in that catagory! This is not a place to go if you are looking for a low budget meal...that being said, it is the perfect place for a great dinning experience!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank calman255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

This was one of the highlights of our fortnight in California - the waiters were attentive and the food was sublime. Yes it was fairly expensive but the food is second to none. We all decided that the steaks we had were the best that we have ever tasted ( home grown on the family ranch no less) and the restaurant was like taking a peek at fine dining in the 1930's! An all round lovely evening was had by all and you can buy beef there in the butchers on the premises.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“An Average high End Steakhouse”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2011

The food quality and service were average for a high end steakhouse. I'd eaten at the House of Prime a couple of months before. My date and I both agreed that the House of Prime had a nicer decor, better service, and better quality food.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Russellicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
126 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Delicious meal with music”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2011

I came to the restaurant with a colleague. The restaurant assumed we were a couple which was funny. They seated us in a nice booth in the lounge near the piano music. Because the music was playing the waiter didn't hear that we didn't need such a romantic setting.

I said to my colleague too bad our spouses aren't here to enjoy this.

The food and service were excellent.

Colleague had lamb chops and I had the smaller Prime Rib which was still a lot of meat. We both enjoyed our meal.

This would be a great date place as it's romantic. Hope to bring my husband on a future trip.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TDK1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harris' Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Harris' Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing