We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Monterey/Carmel Tour”

Tower Tours - San Francisco Sightseeing Specialist
Book In Advance
More Info
$59.00*
and up
San Francisco Grand City Tour by Luxury Motorcoach
Ranked #20 of 107 Food & Drink in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Tower Tours is your #1 Choice for Sightseeing in and around San Francisco! Choose from the Grand City Tour, Muir Woods Tour, Wine Country Tour, Monterey & Carmel Tour, Twilight Tour, Yosemite Tour and more! Tower Tours also offers tour packages to include Alcatraz, Golden Gate Bay Cruise, Aquarium of the Bay at Pier 39, and the Exploratorium. Come by and book a tour today!
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Monterey/Carmel Tour”
Reviewed October 2, 2011

Long tour, 12 hrs., but a great chance to see extraordinary views. Thought the stops along the way were wonderful, plenty of chance to stop and take great photos, and worth the $$. Only comment was our guide, John, consistently provided personal information about his family (son, swim team, wife, brother, hippyl life stories) that we felt we were given "too much information". When he said he'd "Shut off the mic to relax", he proceeded to talk to the couple in the front row about buses, company business, yadda, yadda and his voice was heard way int he back!. Who cares,? St op talking and let us give our ears a rest..! Nice guy, but who cares??

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank mamagoogoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    334
    160
    56
    35
    48
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tower Tours AVOID TERRIBLE SERVICE Muir Woods Sausalito lovely but Tour operator HORRENDOUS”
Reviewed September 30, 2011

We booked and paid for the tour through Tour group on Fishermans wharf, we paid for tour to Muir woods & Sausalito in advance, we arranged to be picked up at hotel at 1030 am of the day we went, 1045 came and went, luckily the company we booked through was 2 minutes from our hotel we ran down and chased them, they finally arrived 1050 took us to Tower Tours on Beach Street to be transferred to another bus. We went to check in they tried to charge us again to get on the bus $51 each, but as we had proof of payment they had to let us on should have realised at this point what a bad omen it was being late and trying to charge us again.

Being the last to get on the bus we had to split our group up as there was no room for the 4 of us. It was a very cramped bus, the seatbelt clip was digging in our behinds all the way not comfotable at all and it was not really a bus, drivers own words it was a truck on wheels, very bouncy in the back we were all over the place, not good for our partially disabled passenger. By the time we got to Muir woods we were feeling rather queasy and squashed. We had 1 hour in the woods just about enough timsae to look around quickly but only just and bearing in mind we had a partially disabled person we had to push them hard to get back in time. So on to Sausalito again very bumpy bouncy ride, we were told we were not allowed to change our seats we had to stick with what we had even though making us ill.

We arrived in Sausalito and were given 1 hour for lunch and shopping!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Yes 1 hour you must be joking I hear you say, nope not at all. We were given the option to ride the ferry back at our convenience, but that would cost us further money on top of what we had already paid.

On returning to the bus for return journey to Fishermans Wharf, another passenger complained that 1 hour was not enough time, The driver replied "You pay your money and take your chances", well at this point we had to walk away as I have never before met someone so arrogant.

We stopped at Golden Gate Bridge to let off 2 more passengers, they did not tip the driver and once the door was closed and he continued on his way, he annouced "That's the thanks you get" because he never got tipped.

We returned to the company and complained but they were not interested at all in hearing it. It was very expensive we would have been better hiring a car for the day. Whilst we were complaining to the company the driver came in rudely butted in and and told his boss he did the best he could, but if you drive down these roads day in day out you will know where all the bumps and jolts are and try to avoid or slow down on them, we were not the only ones complaining on this tour 9 people chose to get ferry rather than endure the bumpy ride back, when there is only 29 people on the bus that says it all really.


Muir Woods & Sausalito are beautiful but need more than an hour in each to appreciate the beauty of them, I would suggest hiring a car or using another tour company.

TOWER TOURS AVOID AT ALL COSTS

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Dionne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic City Tour”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

After reading the various negative reviews on Trip Advisor I was worried about Tower Tours, but my tour was already booked by the hotel concierge and so I had to follow through with it. After taking this wonderful tour, I had to write this review in defense of Tower Tours. My daughter and I took this 3.5 hour City Tour of San Francisco, and the organization of Tower Tours was extremely well organized and ran smoothly. Our tour guide, Peter, was super. He was so informative, entertaining, accommodating to everyone's needs, polite, and it was a highly enjoyable experience. I have taken a city tour with another tour company years ago, and this tour seemed to cover more ground and was much more informative than I remember the other tour being. I would highly recommend taking any tour with Tower Tours.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Debbie60795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“ANGRY!!!!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Took a trip to Muir Woods and Alcatraz. It was repeatedly told to those travelling: "we pride ourselves on being on time". Conitually told how we would be left behind if we were late. NO PROBLEM. HOWEVER..... then keep your bus drivers on time @ the end of the day. We were @ our designated pick up to be returned to our hotel @ 5:45pm as told. Did not get picked up til 6pm, by another bus company (were told they had been subcontracted by Tower Tours). Instead of having a bus to deliver passengers throughout the downtown and then the airport, one large bus was used to do both. Once finished in the city the bus went to the opposite side of the airport, and then doubled back, making it 2 HOURS for us to be delivered back to our hotel. NOT ACCEPTABLE!!! Driver did this intentionally I believe as it was easier for him to drop off his bus @ the bus terminal close to our hotel.
Also was somewhat surprised that when we paid for the tour the $10 adminssion charge for the Muir Woods for 2 of us) was not covered.
If just going to Alcratraz, book in advance, use the subway (very efficient), but DO NOT USE TOWER, especially if your hotel is outside the downtown!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
2 reviews
“Napa valley -HORRIBLE -Tour guide insulted customers in front of everyone!!!”
Reviewed September 4, 2011

This tour company is bogus and EXTREMELY unprofessional and racist.
Tour guide cannot talk english (name Sylvio), insults customers and urges them to cancel tour if they are not happy with him, especially customers who are not American.There were 4 women who were drunk on the way back from Napa valley and he could not control them.
Dont let your trip mood be spoilt by this tour company.BEWARE!!!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Nascent_Explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tower Tours - San Francisco Sightseeing Specialist also viewed

 

Been to Tower Tours - San Francisco Sightseeing Specialist? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing