We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Contigo

Contigo
Reserve with OpenTable
Contigo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #659 of 5,467 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Noe Valley
Cross street: 24th Street
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
391 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 614 helpful votes
“Excellent food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Although this place can initially seem posey and pretentiously "trendy", the food makes up for it.

We shared some tapas amongst 4 friends and ate to our heart's content for about 30$ each. We were well fed without being bloated, and the format allows you to eat as much or a little as you want.

We had the sardines (3$ each) and then a variety of tapas (all ranging in price from 11$ to 13$) some vegetable plates (around 8$) and a dessert (8$). All were tastier than the next, but the meatballs were particularly delicious.

Despite the "trendiness", it was a cool place to hang out and the food was outstanding. I'd go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Stinz3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    17
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“a slice of Spain in the fog”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

One of my favorite restaurants in any city. Contigo's space is beautiful no matter where you sit, but my favorite spots are at the counter (where you can watch the chefs cook in the wood oven) or on the covered/heated patio (it's magical at night). The tapas are all great, especially the patatas bravas. Salads are always interesting and delicious, even when the menu makes them sound ordinary. Desserts are simple and never too sweet.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank AEC in SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Come for the food. Come back for the experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Contigo is such a special restaurant. The food is incredible. If you want a genuine Spanish Catalan taste experience, this is the right place. What's more, this place caters to even the most picky eater without batting an eye. Vegan, raw, gluten free, paleo, you name it - they'll do it.

What's more, Contigo's endless tapas and kava take dining back to the traditional experience that emphasizes sharing quality time with quality people. This place is perfect for a first date, a friendly get together, a celebration, etc. The ambiance is clean and fresh, and they never rush you. In fact, every time I eat there I feel I'm being surprised every few minutes with yet another tasty treat. It feels like my birthday! The meal seems to be endless in the best way. It's the kind of place where you want to try everything - and you really can!

For the delectable farm to table eats, the dreamy service, and the lovely ambiance, Contigo is priced more than fairly. I know I'll continue coming back here again and again.

TIP: Make a reservation. This hidden gem actually fills up quite quickly!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Sierra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
94 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great neighborhood place flying under my radar!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

One of those great little restaurants that you walk by all the time and when you finally stop in you say "why haven't I tried this place earlier?". Great fresh, locally sourced food with a menu that changes daily. Creative dishes like wood oven roasted local sardines, sautéed chard, Albondigas (pork,lamb and jamon meatballs) and samfaina(a roasted vegetable stew that was light enough to taste each ingredient) all made this a delicious dinner. There were 4 of us and we all got something we liked which is why tapas are so fun. Very friendly staff (our waitress was stunningly beautiful, mocha and exotic- a modeling agency needs to discover her fast!). I will go back and try the mushroom entree and the Basque Fisherman's Stew with more friends I hope enjoy this gem.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
“A must try for San Francisco tapas!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Contigo never dissapoints! Even though I'm vegan and also often gluten free or otherwise restricted, the chef and staff do a fantastic job of accommodating me. Every dish is always delicious and satisfying, and you can tell they're made with care using local, organic, fresh, whole ingredients (direct from the farmers at the markets!). Some of my favorites include the Little Gem Salad, the avocado toasts (scrumptious even without the sardines, and on gluten free toast), the padron peppers (cross your fingers for a spicy one), and sauteed chard or spinach. Other yummy staples include the cocas (flatbreads, especially when covered in something green, and even without the cheese as the onions have so much flavor), the almonds, olive medley, and pickled vegetables. Mmmmmm....I'm hungry just thinking about it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lilredfeather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Contigo also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Contigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing