We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great sushi for a quick bite”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Maru Sushi

Maru Sushi
Ranked #182 of 5,645 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Union Square
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great sushi for a quick bite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Needed a pick-me-up after coming back from the airport and the sushi did not disappoint. The Family Affair and Labamba rolls were delicious. The service was friendly and quick. Would definitely recommend Maru Sushi!

Helpful?
Thank SStolller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    168
    53
    18
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Food pretty good but horrible service.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

We were seated and place about 2/3 full waited 15-20 minutes before a server came by, although several passed by. We felt invisible. After we finally ordered, our sushi arrived before our drinks and appetizers. We told food runner took care of it, not the server. Sushi and sashimi was excellent particularly fresh. Only time we saw the server again was when she dropped off the bill.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MojoCatTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Just Right”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

Small establishment near my hotel. Lots of choices on the menu. I had the LaBamba roll, just the perfect amount of heat and perfectly presented. Other diners seemed to be very happy with their choices as well. Service was excellent and they are very family friendly.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank minesbigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
145 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Great sushi in the heart of downtown”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Second time out for sushi this trip to San Fran. This restaurant has an especially nice atmosphere, spacious, quiet, pleasant and a great retreat from the hustle and hecticness of Powell / Union Square. The sashimi was super fresh. House chardonnay surprisingly good. I will return and would recommend to friends visiting San Francisco.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Freefromwisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NB, CT
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“On Powell”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Based on the glowing reviews I expected allot more. Lacking a bit in all areas. I was disappointed. I would suggest exploring other options but judge for yourself.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hrdhittin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maru Sushi also viewed

 

Been to Maru Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing