We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice”

Japanese Tea Garden
Book In Advance
More Info
$89.00*
and up
Viator Exclusive: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Plus Bike & Bay Cruise
Ranked #38 of 534 things to do in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Four-acre refuge in Golden Gate Park featuring Japanese architecture and gardens.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
264 reviews
187 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

It was nice and interesting but should cost less than $7, because it is small and only takes no more than 30 minutes to walk through.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Packerfancheesehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,515 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,247
    816
    337
    90
    25
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Inverell, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A real experience”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

A small fee to see such a beautiful, well thought out and cared for garden. The resident squirrels were a cute bonus.

Very popular tea room which we did not stop at. Fabulous little gift shop.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Choclat20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Tea garden”
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

The garden is absolutely beautiful I would definitely say this is a thing to see. It is a bit on the small side so it would be easy to feel confident you have seen the whole thing in under an hour. Definitely worth the 7.00 to go through it.

Helpful?
Thank Kelsey L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A quiet bit of serenity”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Having lived in Japan there's always a little piece of me hankering after 'home'. The serenity and elegance of the Japanese tea garden in Golden gate park was very refreshing.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank EmAitchKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
51 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Beautiful garden, but it was too crowd”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

We been there many years ago, that was one of our favorite place in the Golden Gate Park. Totally 5 stars for the garden - it was beautiful and well taking care of it. We love the Koi, the bonsai tree, the bridges...however, because it was very crowd, we cannot found a quiet place to sit and enjoy the garden. People were everywhere - kids crying, running, adults were talking...A bit of disappointment. Quick tip - Do not go there on weekend and Hoilday.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank 118TempeAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Japanese Tea Garden also viewed

 

Been to Japanese Tea Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing