We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a must for ballet-lovers”

San Francisco Ballet
Ranked #104 of 534 things to do in San Francisco
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience wonderful ballet performances from October through May.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“a must for ballet-lovers”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

This is the oldest ballet company in America, and one of the three best. it permors most from early Februry until mid-May in the SF Opera House. It does a lot of modern and contemporary work and some traditional classics. The company is in beautiful shape, and performing standards are very high.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank gulliver1711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    15
    4
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“San Francisco Ballet...a Superb Company”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

The oldest ballet company in the US, SF Ballet is worth attending. Each performance is an exquisite rendition of both historic and contemporary choreographers works.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“That is entertainment...”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I usher for both the SF Ballet & the SF Opera...just love them both.

The ballet dancers are assembled from all over the world. They are usually amazing.

The operas also usually feature international casts. As for the operas I prefer some to others. My new favorite is Nixon in China. Very well done.

The orchestras for both are a pleasure to hear. They are composed of excellent musicians.

Add the beautiful decor of the War Memorial Opera House & you have a perfect evening of entertainment.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank 2-4dance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
164 reviews
113 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great Venue”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I won't tip-toe around the subject, San Francisco has an excellent ballet troupe who performs in a very satisfactory venue.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank travel-junkie3PO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is one of the top rated troupes in the world. I missed last season, sadly, but in all the years I've been going, I have never seen a bad performace. Spectacular costumes and the Opera House is beautiful. The often have a half-hour Q&A prior to the Sunday matinee for ticket holders. Open seating for this and it is anywhere from interviews to discussions on costumes, staging, etc. Very informative.

Helpful?
Thank Notorious-E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Francisco Ballet also viewed

 

Been to San Francisco Ballet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing