We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Class Act”

San Francisco Symphony
Ranked #81 of 535 things to do in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Presents and performs over 220 concerts annually, from September through July. In 2011-12 celebrates its 100th centennial season- learn more at our website.
Mill Valley, California, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Class Act”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

My girlfriend & I subscribed for the season last year and it was a lot of fun! Warning.....give yourself plenty of time to arrive if you are traveling any distance. It's always easy to miscalculate SF traffic on weekend evenings!! Other than that.....the programs were delightful!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    33
    5
    0
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Morioka, Japan
Level Contributor
70 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“One of the Best”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

The San Francisco Symphony with Michael Tilson Thomason at the Helm is one of the best, if not the best, symphonies in the World.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank rogermann64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Music to my ears”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We saw a wonderful show here.....a definite high light....first class all the way....a definite must...

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank TGlobalFresno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The wonder of San Francisco!”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We were at a concert there recently and heard Renée Fleming as guest. My god it was a great concert! The orchestra performed Jeux and La Mer in a breathtaking fashion. I have heard orchestras around the world perform La Mer and the San Francisco's performance was the best!! They are one of North America's best orchestras and MTT is a genius!! It is worth a trip across the country to hear some concerts of this orchestra in Davies Hall! A MUST!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Johnpaul4222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Currently Grammy nominated? Renée Fleming sounded awesome with this orchestra”
Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

Davies Hall is beautiful And seats over 2000 people, lots of young people in the audience which was nice to see a symphony orchestra concert

Helpful?
Thank Matthewyoungviola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Francisco Symphony also viewed

 

Been to San Francisco Symphony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing