We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just go! Beats the tourist traps!”

San Francisco Symphony
Ranked #85 of 550 things to do in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Presents and performs over 220 concerts annually, from September through July. In 2011-12 celebrates its 100th centennial season- learn more at our website.
San Rafael, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just go! Beats the tourist traps!”
Reviewed April 11, 2012 via mobile

Really a world class orchestra and MTT is a National Treasure. Don't miss a performance here. I live here and trust me you can skip the tshirt shops on fisherman's wharf and spend your time and money on things the natives do in this city we love. If you are really smart you'll get center loge tickets behind the orchestra for $20 and watch MTT conduct and read the music of some of the players as they play. Imho the best seats in the house!

Helpful?
Thank Judy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    33
    5
    0
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful music”
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Listened to a Mahler symphony, which was delightful. Pre-symphony talk was very informative.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
342 reviews
251 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 395 helpful votes
“A great orchestra”
Reviewed March 18, 2012

IF they are too expensive for you, a short walk away at Oak and Van Ness is the SF Conservatory of Music, with free or cheap concerts almost nightly in season.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank efsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Amazing Symphony”
Reviewed March 15, 2012

The San Francisco Symphony is one of the greatest in the world. It is not cheap (and probably not very kid friendly) but do treat yourself to a symphony performance. It is a soul stirring experience.

Helpful?
Thank Janene1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“American Mavericks series is not music!”
Reviewed March 15, 2012

The SF Symphony is one of the finest in the world, directed by one of the greatest conductors in the world BUT pick your concerts wisely. We bought tickets to hear Jessye Norman, thinking we would hear something glorious like Strauss's "4 Last Songs" and ended up with something akin to psychotic cacophony - simply dreadful. Not since I dislocated my shoulder did I experience such pain. The evening ended with pounding drums and a terrible headache. "American Mavericks" is a terrible disappointment.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank United50K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Francisco Symphony also viewed

 

Been to San Francisco Symphony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing