We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experiance”

San Francisco Opera
Ranked #84 of 550 things to do in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We have been thrilling audiences in San Francisco since 1923. We are known for commissioning numerous world premieres, training some of opera's greatest young artists and being one of the world's leading opera companies. Come visit us during our fall season (September - early December) or our summer season (late May - early July) and enjoy an incredible night out.
Deming, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Experiance”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

This was my first time at an opera and I enjoyed it very much! The Opera staff were very helpful in finding our seats and helping us with questions being our first time there. We had a great time!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    60
    9
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,586 reviews
965 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 631 helpful votes
“A Great Experience”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Visiting from England we were delighted to see that our trip coincided with a performance of the Opera company and were able to book simply on line. The Opera House itself is easy to reach being only a ten/fifteen minute walk from the Union Square area (drop down to Market Street and then up past the main library and City Hall to walk mainly on the level) alternately the F Tram takes you to the end of Van Ness. The building is on the grand scale and a very impressive tribute to the city. Sight lines are good and legroom whilst not huge is sufficient. We found the staff all very helpful and were seated without problem. Our big recommendation relates to the pre Opera talks that are free and given 55 minutes before curtain up to all ticket holders. Even though we knew the Opera we were seeing quite well we learned a lot and were given specific sound examples to compare with other productions. Much appreciated and this added to a great experience

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank bsandrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridian, Idaho
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“UGH!”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

A group of us went to see a nice production of La Boheme last year with a Romanian soprano and a really terrific Polish tenor. The result was a fair rendition of an old standard. The voices were excellent and the sets were OK. The biggest shock, to someone whose visit was his first, was the sound. Would you believe they had microphones and huge speakers stashed at the sides of the stage which made one feel he was in a rock concert arena. Terrible acoustical mess and irritating to a music lover. Let's petition David, the general manager to dispense with the artificial sound and bring back natural music!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank BeethovenBuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Read this if you will need a taxi, and other good advice”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

The building itself is very beautiful. I would recommend just walking around and enjoying the building. There is a place for eating before hand, and also a "hospital" room in case you need a bandaid, or any other medical care.
Some people dress up for the opera, but you do not have to. You can come dressed very casual. If you need a taxi afterwards there is a process to follow. The taxis pick you up at the side entrance. If you are in front of the building looking at the main doors, it is to your left. When you arrive, go to those doors. There will be a man there who will take your name. Afterwards you go outside to those doors and he has taxis lined up for the people who reserved them beforehand. Anyone else has to wait and could be waiting for awhile.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, CA
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Wow, what atreat to have a world-class opera in SF”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We brought my opera-singing father to the Barber of Seville, and it was one of the great events of our lives. Spectacular talent and voices, spectacular set design and surprising changes, spectacular orchestra and extras. What a treat.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Darell7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Francisco Opera also viewed

 

Been to San Francisco Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing