We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time had by all!!! Lots of laughs!!!”

Beach Blanket Babylon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: On June 7, 1974, Steve Silver produced a small show in the back room of the Savoy Tivoli Restaurant in San Francisco. The show was to run for six weeks. That was over 37 years ago... Today, Steve Silver's Beach Blanket Babylon has the distinguished title of "World's Longest Running Musical Revue." The show - a musical spoof known internationally for its extravagant costumes, outrageous hats, show-stopping numbers and hilarious puns of pop culture and political character - has been seen by over 5.5 Million people, including HRC Queen Elizabeth II, Prince Charles and Camilla the Duchess of Cornwall as well as some of Hollywood's biggest stars. "Steve Silver's Beach Blanket Babylon," hailed as "a constant cascade of showstoppers" by the "San Francisco Chronicle", follows Snow White as she takes a fast-paced journey around the world in search of her "Prince Charming." Along the way she encounters a star-studded, ever-changing line-up of hilarious political and pop-culture characters including Donald and Melania Trump, Adele, Hillary & Bill Clinton, Lady Gaga, Kim Kardashian, President Barack & Michelle Obama, Hamilton, Bernie Sanders, Sia, Taylor Swift, Vladimir Putin, Chris Christie, Barbra Streisand, Miley Cyrus, Orange is the New Black, Empire's Cookie, Oprah and the San Francisco Giants
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
San Francisco, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great time had by all!!! Lots of laughs!!!”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

I have seen this show many times over the years, and I am never disappointed. The music is wonderful full of laughs, and the cast is very talented, costumes are amazing!!! We usually bring friends from out of town when they are visiting because they have never seen anything like it and they really enjoy it. Be prepared there is some language and snarky jokes but my guest are always glad they came . There are some matinee shows that are appropriate for the younger crowd. I have never had a bad seat, the theatre is very small so arrive early for best seat choice.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,798 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,353
    325
    69
    27
    24
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Mad Cap, Rip Roaring Good Time”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

It is hard to imagine how such an ongoing show can stay fresh, but it does. I have seen the show over a dozen times and it never gets old. They take the latest news and scandals from politics and celebrities and incorporate it into a new show while keeping the best parts of the original. Truly not to be missed. I take every out of town guest to see it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fabulous Musical Theatre”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

I went expecting snarky jokes, a few songs, and some laughs. I was quite surprised by the talent in this show. There were some snarky jokes and quite a few laughs, but I was completely impressed with the vocal quality of the singers and the talent of the live band. I can't recommend this highly enough. It's well worth the ticket price.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Plaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Lots of laughs”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Our group of four really enjoyed the show. In San Francisco for a girls weekend it really got us laughing.

We arrived an hour ahead of show time, and got good seats. I'm not sure if I'd want to be in the back half, but other reviewers said that there isn't a bad seat in the house.

The balcony side seats would have been exceptional.

After the show we went to the Irish Pub a few doors down...figured it would be better than waiting for the washroom in the theatre, and a good way to cap off the evening. Drinks there were good, the ambiance was great, and it gave us some time to re-hash the show and laugh some more.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank northwestfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised, a real treat!”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Very talented cast, very entertaining experience. We went to a Sunday matinee since we had an eleven year old with us. It turned out to be fun for us all.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank LisaMNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beach Blanket Babylon also viewed

 

Been to Beach Blanket Babylon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing