We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whacky but fun!”

Beach Blanket Babylon
Book In Advance
$52.00*
and up
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: On June 7, 1974, Steve Silver produced a small show in the back room of the Savoy Tivoli Restaurant in San Francisco. The show was to run for six weeks. That was over 37 years ago... Today, Steve Silver's Beach Blanket Babylon has the distinguished title of "World's Longest Running Musical Revue." The show - a musical spoof known internationally for its extravagant costumes, outrageous hats, show-stopping numbers and hilarious puns of pop culture and political character - has been seen by over 5.5 Million people, including HRC Queen Elizabeth II, Prince Charles and Camilla the Duchess of Cornwall as well as some of Hollywood's biggest stars. "Steve Silver's Beach Blanket Babylon," hailed as "a constant cascade of showstoppers" by the "San Francisco Chronicle", follows Snow White as she takes a fast-paced journey around the world in search of her "Prince Charming." Along the way she encounters a star-studded, ever-changing line-up of hilarious political and pop-culture characters including Donald and Melania Trump, Adele, Hillary & Bill Clinton, Lady Gaga, Kim Kardashian, President Barack & Michelle Obama, Hamilton, Bernie Sanders, Sia, Taylor Swift, Vladimir Putin, Chris Christie, Barbra Streisand, Miley Cyrus, Orange is the New Black, Empire's Cookie, Oprah and the San Francisco Giants
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Swansea S.Wales
Level Contributor
143 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Whacky but fun!”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We had been told by friends that this was a 'must see' in SF and are very glad we saw it. The seating is a bit cramped to put it mildly and I think if we went again would opt to sit on the balcony if possible - that way you wont find yourself sitting behind a tall person and have a blocked view.


Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank pandmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,780 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,338
    324
    69
    25
    24
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kenner, Louisiana
Level Contributor
454 reviews
127 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“What a surprise! We had no idea what to expect!”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Our hotel desk clerk told us about this theatre, but gave us no idea as to what it was about. We walked the six blocks, and stopped to eat at one of the many restaurants along the way in Little Italy. Good thing we did, as there was no food at the theatre. The play was terrific and was timely. The writers must revamp the script at least every month to make the topics so current. A great night overall. Make sure to get seats close to get the best enjoyment of the play.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank JBernard20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wouldn't be funny in a primary school”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

This world-famous production has incredible costumes, very talented performers and a slick production. I must admit that the music is not entirely to my taste, being very 'cabaret', but the humour was non-existent. The crowd loved it, but, even though I understood the jokes, I couldn't begin to find them funny. Satire? Don't make me laugh!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
326 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Wow! Can't believe I visited San Fran so many times and didn't find this San Fran treasure!”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This show is HILARIOUS! Be prepared to laugh out loud and possibly so hard you will shed a tear! Buy your tickets early as I hear this show sells out on a regular basis, which isn't surprising how entertaining it is!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank HiTownMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg pa
Level Contributor
97 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Oh My GOSH!”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

WHAT CAN I SAY! This show is FANTASTIC, with great costumes, headdresses & up to date political satire! Plus SUPERB ACTORS!!!!!!! "NOT TO BE MISSED"!! ~ nothing like it.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank travellsmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beach Blanket Babylon also viewed

 

Been to Beach Blanket Babylon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing