We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SF entertainment”

Beach Blanket Babylon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: On June 7, 1974, Steve Silver produced a small show in the back room of the Savoy Tivoli Restaurant in San Francisco. The show was to run for six weeks. That was over 37 years ago... Today, Steve Silver's Beach Blanket Babylon has the distinguished title of "World's Longest Running Musical Revue." The show - a musical spoof known internationally for its extravagant costumes, outrageous hats, show-stopping numbers and hilarious puns of pop culture and political character - has been seen by over 5.5 Million people, including HRC Queen Elizabeth II, Prince Charles and Camilla the Duchess of Cornwall as well as some of Hollywood's biggest stars. "Steve Silver's Beach Blanket Babylon," hailed as "a constant cascade of showstoppers" by the "San Francisco Chronicle", follows Snow White as she takes a fast-paced journey around the world in search of her "Prince Charming." Along the way she encounters a star-studded, ever-changing line-up of hilarious political and pop-culture characters including Donald and Melania Trump, Adele, Hillary & Bill Clinton, Lady Gaga, Kim Kardashian, President Barack & Michelle Obama, Hamilton, Bernie Sanders, Sia, Taylor Swift, Vladimir Putin, Chris Christie, Barbra Streisand, Miley Cyrus, Orange is the New Black, Empire's Cookie, Oprah and the San Francisco Giants
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Riverbank
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“SF entertainment”
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Quintessential San Francisco experience. Sunday matinee is alcohol free and appropriate for all audiences. Great music, comedy,costumes.Close quarters seating so prepare to be friendly and have a goodtme.

Helpful?
Thank FstEddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,798 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,353
    325
    69
    27
    24
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Level 6 Contributor
280 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“At Least Once”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Small local theater group wearing over-the-top costumes performing "parodies" highlighting everyday tidbits and newsworthy events. We sat in the balcony (non-reserved) but still at $52 per person so thought it was a bit expensive for the overall experience. Obviously a "tourist" thing to do as once was enough.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank GourmetAddict2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“So funny”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

The show is well done. The costumes are great and outlandish. The humor is current and kept me laughing throughout the whole show. I was especially impressed with the jokes and skits relating to current events and how the writers manage to always add new, witty material. Definitely recommend this show to anyone in the area. Be warned that the seats aren't very comfortable though.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, KY
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“FABULOUS!!!”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

That was the Best show that we have seen in years. It was so entertaining! Comical. Current. Musical. Such a fast pace, I never got bored. The wigs, the hats, the singing, the costumes, EVERYTHING was Spectacular. Super show! Get your tickets immediately, and go. Get there early so you can get a good seat.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tina4UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Oaks, California
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Our 7th show in 30 years.”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We have seen 7 shows and every time it has new jokes and characters and is always current. We still laugh throughout the entire fast paced show (no intermissions). We have sat in every section and you really can't get a bad seat, although the ones in the rear of the main floor are probably the least desirable. I am sure we will return in a few years to see this San Francisco tradition an 8th time.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank suethe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beach Blanket Babylon also viewed

 

Been to Beach Blanket Babylon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing