We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Noisy but comfortable.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center
Ranked #176 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Noisy but comfortable.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Friendly front desk staff and rooms recently updated. Older style property but effort has been made to update and maintain the property. Card access required to enter elevator and side doors which made me feel more secure. I appreciated the fact the hotel has recently gone nonsmoking. Parking is available for a fee. Complimentary coffee is available in the morning at the front desk or you can brew your own in the room. Noise was a problem at night given the location in the middle of SOMA, so I would suggest bringing ear plugs. The first night someone outside was hollering all night. While the surrounding areas are showing some signs of recent gentrification, there are still plenty of homeless and transients on surrounding streets as can be expected in downtown San Fran. Hotel is two blocks from Civic Center Muni and BART station.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seriousworldwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager1019, General Manager at SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for your input. We are happy that your experience was positive. Unfortunately, you are correct, we are at a busy corner and there are certain times at which it can get a bit noisy. We hope that this will not factor in your decision in staying with us the next time you are in San Francisco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    37
    43
    14
    29
See reviews for
20
42
14
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Had 4 days here, mainly for the location
Reasonably priced and clean
Fridge microwave and coffee maker and a dining table.
Good security as you cant get to the doors without your access key.
Surprisingly quiet for being on a busy intersection

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Antinmelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager1019, General Manager at SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you very much for your comments regarding your stay in March. We appreciate your input so that we can continually improve our guest's experience. To that end, we became a completely smoke free hotel early this year. Your stay may have coincided with our transition from a mixed to a smoke free hotel. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused and we hope you will give us another chance in the future.
Thanks again for your valuable input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Excellent staff with outstanding service. They went above and beyond to give the services we needed. They hooked us up with free extra bed in both of our rooms. I don't care what other people say about this hotel, but we will definitely come back and stay here.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dghboy878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechelen, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

This hotel has good value for money. The staff was tremendously friendly. As it is in the center of San Francisco, it is quite noisy. It is a 15min walk from the hotel to Union Square or the Moscone Center.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JanAquariius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turlock, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We had to make an unplanned trip to San Fran. The price was right, BART access was a piece of cake and the room was clean and ready early. There is also a small market directly across the street. Add friendly staff and what's not to like? Sure it might be no frills, but in that department it is more than adequate. Didn't have a chance to try the wifi. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MathJediPi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

This motel isn't the Ritz, but it is clean and the bed was comfortable. I was there on business and had important tradeshow samples FedEx'd to the motel. The staff received them and placed them in a safe area until I was able to retrieve them. I was also there on motorcycle and they were accommodating with a safe parking spot for my bike. Not in the best area, but for my purposes it was perfect. Access doors to guest rooms all require a room key, leaving me feeling safe at night. If you need a clean, safe bed within walking distance of South of Market area, this is a good choice.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
San Francisco Inn
San Francisco Inn
#141 of 233 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 120 reviews
SoMa
Civic Center Motor Inn
Civic Center Motor Inn
#196 of 233 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 stars 313 reviews
The Castro
Twin Peaks Hotel
Twin Peaks Hotel
#175 of 233 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 stars 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Dakota Hotel
#184 of 233 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 stars 168 reviews
Encore Express Hotel
#131 of 233 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 264 reviews
Alexis Park San Francisco
#172 of 233 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 stars 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center

Property: SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center
Address: 101 9th Street, San Francisco, CA 94103 (Formerly Rodeway Inn Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #176 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn is located in the heart of downtown San Francisco. We are a block away from Market Street (the main street in SF) and within walking distance to the Moscone Convention Center, Cable Cars, Civic Center, Asian Art Museum, and Union Square among other sights of the city. We offer clean comfortable rooms at a reasonable rate all year round. Onsite parking is available at fee. We offer free WiFi, free coffee and free newspaper to compliment our professionally decorated rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Downtown Hotel San Francisco
Rodeway Inn San Francisco
San Francisco Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing