We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Science, art, and lunch”
Review of The Moss Room - CLOSED

The Moss Room
Price range: $50 - $60
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Golden Gate Park
Transit: The California Academy of Sciences is served by several public transit routes. From downtown, take SF Muni buses #5, 7, 21, 71 or the Muni-Metro N-Judah streetcar. From north of the Park, take Muni buses #33 or 44. From South of the Park, take Muni buses #33, 44 or 71. For more information, visit MUNI's website at www.sfmuni.com
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
172 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Science, art, and lunch”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

The Moss Room at the California Academy of Science is a perfect place for lunch while visiting the Academy and the nearby De Young Museum. If you don't pay to get into the Academy of Science, you have to ask for a special entry into the downstairs Moss Room. It's a great environment with a locally sourced menu of high quality food. A little pricey, but worth the splurge!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    24
    6
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
248 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Surprise!”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

The food was a surprise in how good it was. The variety and freshness was welcome. I was reminded of European cafateria eating by the Moss Room. Since it is in the museum it is pricey, but that was to be expected.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jason K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowen Island, Canada
Level Contributor
292 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
“I liked it!”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Admittedly, they have to deal with crowds, and the menu is limited, and the location is not stellar.

But what a nice refuge from the hectic exhibit halls at the Science Museum, plus unexpectedly good entree choices at fairly reasonable prices.

I do not hesitate to recommend building a stop here into your day at the museum. just make sure to either beat the rush, or go later....

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darby, Montana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Service, Great Food, Nice Atmosphere”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We were exhausted by the noise in the museum, so when the cafeteria on the main floor seemed our only choice for lunch, we wanted to eat elsewhere. But we discovered the menu for the Moss Room near the cafeteria and asked someone about it; in a few minutes, we were downstairs and so relieved by the quiet, calming atmosphere of the Moss Room. Our server aimed to please--no rushing, fixed my white wine spritzer as I asked, gave us time and space over lunch, and ultimately, didn't charge us for our dessert because he felt it took too long in the oven to cook. What more can I say! It was a fabulous experience, a story I've shared with many friends. I had the mussels in coconut broth (perfectly prepared). The salad was large but fresh ( I was told this item is being reworked). Coffee was French Press, and we had small, freshly cooked apple turnovers we shared. Overall, a great experience and needed reprieve from the noisy museum. Don't miss it!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
136 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Terrible Customer Service”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

At a recent visit to the museum, I tried to eat here. Arriving about five minutes before closing time, I was told by the staff that the kitchen couldn't accept any orders after the top of hour. When I pointed it was still 5 minutes to the hour, they stated they were closing.

It was just an awkward experience. If they're open until 3PM, and state they can place orders with the kitchen until 3PM, they should be able to seat folks until 3PM.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Moss Room also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing